Most Anticipated Horror Movies of 2024!

Hey y’all, this is gonna be a great year for horror movies! I can feel it. First, there aren’t too many tentpole superhero movies being released this year, and I’ve been seeing some very interesting Horror trailers, not just for streaming, but in theaters as well. I think we might even see a few surprise hits, too.

Here’s my list of my most hotly anticipated Horror movies. The movies at the top of my list are streaming films on Amazon, Netflix, Shudder, and AMC. The second will be movies that I believe are being released in theaters. The last part of the list will be movies I’m not too hot to see but y’all might be interested in checking out. There’s also a small list of movies that sound interesting that I do not have trailers for.

Streaming

The Animal Kingdom

I don’t know if this is scary but the trailer makes it look really intriguing and that seems to be enough to capture my interest I guess. It is currently not streaming anywhere but I will keep an eye out for it and let you know who has it and when.

Parasyte: The Grey

I watched the entire anime series and loved it, so I’m willing to check this out. The flavor of this movie is a little different than the cartoon, because it seems a lot more serious. This is more of a straight up Alien Invasion Horror movie, whereas the anime had a lot more humor, and the protagonist is now a woman. I’m okay with that. They definitely kept all the gore, which I can appreciate. This seems more like a story set in the same universe than a remake of the anime series. I think this is streaming on Netflix on April 5th.

Infested

For some reason we are getting giant spider movies this year, and although I’m deeply arachnophobic, I’m on board with that. This also looks like fun and reminds me of a cross between Eight Legged Freaks and Tremors. I would never watch such a film in a dark theater though, because when I get creeped out at home, I can turn it off, and it won’t be a waste of my money to never look at it again! I like that more PoC are being seen in Horror movies these days, although it is impossible for me to tell if this movie is American or what. It sounds like everyone is speaking French though. Its streaming on AMC+ on April 26th.

Late Night With the Devil

I’m a huge David Dastmalchian fan, so I’m very eager to see him put his shit down in this movie, where he is the primary character, rather than a side character who gets knocked off. I’m not too keen on possession films, in general, but the premise of this sounds kind of interesting. It will be streaming on AMC/Shudder on March 26th, and April 19th.

Out of Darkness

I’m always up for some Historically based Horror movies, and the setting for this is rather unique. I’m going to check this out and get to y’all on it. This can be rented on Amazon Prime. AppleTV, and Vudu today!

From Black

I was not impressed by the trailer, but I did get to see a small clip of one little scene in this movie, and now I’m all in. That scene was genuinely scary so now I have to know what happened. This movie is not going to skimp on the gore either, I can tell you that. This is streaming on Amazon/Shudder today.

Handling the Undead

From time to time someone will make a more thoughtful and introspective Zombie movie and I like those. This movie was written by the same guy who wrote Let the Right One In, and I have read it. The book was rather melancholy and the movie seems to have captured some of that same flavor. I’m intrigued. So technically ,this is a 2023 movie that will see a US release this year, and is available on AppleTV, although that is not where I’ll be watching it.

In Theaters

Sting

This is the other giant spider movie released this year. Unlike the previous film, where I wasn’t entirely sure, this one is definitely supposed to be a comedy. I’m not sure this is a theatrical release or streaming but its coming on April 12th.

Lovely Dark and Deep

This movie looks good and creepy. I can probably take a guess at what it’s about but that’s not going to stop me from looking at it. This is one of those movies I’m not certain is playing in theaters, but I’ve heard it came out on VOD in February.

A Quiet Place: Day One

I love the Quiet Place movies, so I’m really excited to check this one out. This is coming to theaters on June 28th.

The Watchers

I don’t know much about this movie, even after watching the trailer a couple of times, but I like the lead actress and it looks pretty creepy. This is being released on June14th.

Alien Romulus

I have not been able to find a single trailer for this movie that I trust is a real trailer. There probably isnt one yet but I’m gonna leave this here even though I’m not as enthusiastic about this movie as some of the other films on this list.

I’m not excited to see this exactly, but it is a new film in the Alien franchise, so that arouses my curiosity even if the movie turns out to be waste of my time. I was under the impression this was streaming on Hulu but I’ve also heard its playing in theaters. I don’t know. The date I have for this is August 16th.

Nosferatu

This is another movie I’m very enthusiastic to see later this year. I’m a big Robert Eggers fan, and I liked the original, so I really want to see what he does with this remake of the 1922 version. The release date is December 25th and we don’t got no trailer for this one yet.

Of Note:

Mystery Film from M. Night Shyamalan – No one has anything on this one, not even a trailer.

Mystery Film by Jordan Peele – I’m always excited to hear that Jordan Peel is working on something. He is also the Producer behind Dev Patel’s new Action film, Monkey Man.

Winnie the Pooh 2 – I’m not into Slasher style movies really but the idea behind this is novel. Maybe some day in the future I may be in the mood to watch this, but not now.

Imaginary – This doesn’t look especially scary to me, but I’m sure its up someone’s alley, as its being heavily promoted on YouTube.

The First Omen – Nah. You cannot improve on the first movie, which was perfection.

The Strangers – I’m mostly not a fan of Home Invasion movies, but a lot of people really liked the first movie which is why we’re getting a sequel. I don’t hate these types of movies, they’re simply not to my taste.

Speak No Evil – I saw the original movie on which this was based and that movie frustrated me to no end! I mostly just felt like slapping the holy crap out of most of the characters, since I always have my mouth opne to say something, but the plot hinged very heavily on the idea of people not talking when they should have, in other words “speaking no evil”. I do wonder how the creators are going to change this remake to fit an American aesthetic, because most Americans have no problem speaking their minds.

Terrifier – I’m not that into killer clowns, and this movie seems to be more about spectacle than message, which I do not find attractive. But somebody out there likes it, so they made a second one. There’s a Horror movie to fit every kind of taste.

Smile 2 – I didn’t watch the first movie even though I heard from a lot of people that it’s pretty good. Someday I’ll get around to watching both of these.

Return to Silent Hill – I was not impressed by any of the Silent Hill movies that showed up after the first film. Shockingly, I have actually played the first iteration of the game, which made me reach the conclusion that Horror games are not for me!

Out Come the Wolves – I know nothing about this movie beyond the basic synopsis that its a about a group of people being attacked by a pack of wolves.

Dust Bunny – The basic plot is that a little girl teams up with some kind of hunter to kill the monster that lives under her bed, which she thinks ate her family. I have no trailer, but this sounds interesting. I hope its a comedy.

Later this month I’ll be posting stories about the different types of new Horror available to partake of online, and new Horror authors I’ve been reading the last few years! Stephen King has some real competition out there, or at least a new successor.

One thought on “Most Anticipated Horror Movies of 2024!

Leave a comment