10 Vampire Movies Featuring People Of Color

Black Panther vs Black Vampire - Battles - Comic Vine

I was actually able to find a surprising number of vampire films featuring people of color. We still need more of them though, as they’re still rare. Rarer still are movies about Black vampire hunters. If you’re sick of pale, European vampires, I recommend giving these a try, just to change things up a bit. I cannot vouch for the cinematic quality of all these movies, but I can say there’s nothing else like them, and you probably won’t be disappointed, if you’re looking for a little novelty.

Blade/Blade 2 (1998/2002)

If you haven’t seen this yet, I suggest you get to it. Blade set the stage and paved the way for movies like Black Panther. The first movie is just fun to watch, and has a Black cultural sensibility that was lost by the second film, but Blade 2 is still my favorite of the trilogy, since it was directed by none other than the incredible Guillermo Del Toro, and the villains were better. Blade one ain’t nothing to sleep on though. The music slaps, and its actually got a dark skinned Black woman in the cast, Karen, kickin ass, and not even caring about names.

The Transfiguration (2017)

This one I haven’t watched yet, but its definitely on my list before Halloween. It follows in the footsteps of the 70;s film titled Martin, about a young man who becomes fascinated by vampires, and then starts to believe he is one. Actually, it sort of looks like Blade’s origin story, without the martial arts. It still looks good and movies about children (especially Black ones) as vampires don’t get a lot of play. I’ll watch it and get back to ya’.

Aaron’s Blood (2016)

This another child vampire movie I’ve been eyeballing for a while now. It was playing on Amazon Prime for a bit, so I’m going to check there first. A boy gets a blood transfusion that is slowly turning him into a vampire and his father goes on a journey to find a cure before its too late. It sounds very much like the plot of The Transfiguration, only the acting doesn’t seem as good. I’m going to give it try anyway because Hispanic child vampires are rare.

Thirst (2009)

This movie is set in Korea and is from the director of Old Boy. If youre expecting something like Old Boy this is not it, as its much much quieter, and no huge fight scenes, although there is a lot of humor in it. Its about a Priest who gets turned into a vampire, and has to reconcile his faith with his new status, as a creature of the night.

Vampires Vs. The Bronx (2020)

This movie is currently airing on Netflix, and heavily reminds me of Attack the Block mixed with Monster Squad, and The Lost Boys. So if you like any of those films, check it out. The theme of the movie is the gentrification of Black neighborhoods, by white suburbanites. Its very on the nose, but still looks like its a lot of fun, and although I haven’t had a chance to look at this yet, I really like movies about kids fighting monsters, so I will be watching this one soon.

Ganja And Hess (1973)

I’m going to have to order it from the library or Amazon. I’ve heard a lot about this Black vampire movie, that’s only really known about by Black fans of Horror movies. I’d only heard about this maybe a year ago, and when I looked for it, couldn’t find it streaming anywhere, but maybe that has changed since.

A Vampire in Brooklyn (1995)

I’m a big fan of both Eddie Murphy and Angela Bassett, and really, this is the only place you’re going to see the two of them together in a film, although it is not the first time Angela has played a vampire. (She was in American Horror Story: Hotel). When this first came out it was not my favorite, but it has since grown on me, and I’ve watched it a couple of times. It still mostly isn’t my type of humor, but Eddie and Angela are engaging, and Eddie is his usual funny self. If you’re looking for a horror movie, that ‘s not too heavy, check it out.

Vamp (1986)

This is another Horror Comedy from the 80s. Grace Jones owns a vampire strip club, attended by three (sort of) friends looking to hire a stripper, for a party, so they can join a fraternity. I really enjoyed this when it was released and I’ve mentioned it here before. Grace is one of my favorite entertainers and the soundtrack is pretty cool too.

Da Sweet Blood Of Jesus (2014)

Okay, I watched this movie twice, and I don’t think I paid close enough attention because there were parts of this movie I just didn’t get. I didn’t dislike it though. Its very artsy though, and if you guys watch it, maybe y’all can explain to me what I didn’t understand about this movie. This is a remake of Ganja And Hess by Spike Lee.

Spike Lee’s new stylized thriller DA SWEET BLOOD OF JESUS is a new kind of love story. Dr. Hess Green (Stephen Tyrone Williams) becomes cursed by a mysterious ancient Afrian artifact and is overwhelmed with a newfound thirst for blood. He however is not a vampire. Soon after his transformation he enters into a dangerous romance with Ganja Hightower (Zaraah Abrahams) that questions the very nature of love, addiction, sex, and status in our seemingly sophisticated society.

Blacula (1972)

Like Ganja and Hess, Blacula comes straight out of the Blaxploitation era about an African King who was cursed to being a vampire, becasue he pissed off some European vampire. He comes to America, and hijinks ensue, with the plot following the basic idea behind Coppola’s Dracula movie from 1992. No the acting isn’t great, but it was one of the first Black vampire films, and the novelty, should get you through it. And if you have the stamina, check out the sequel, Scream Blacula, Scream.

Honorable Mention

A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night

The first Iranian Vampire Western ever made, Ana Lily Amirpour’s debut basks in the sheer pleasure of pulp. A joyful mash-up of genre, archetype, and iconography, its prolific influences span spaghetti westerns, graphic novels, horror films, and the Iranian New Wave.

This is another artsy vampire film, done entirely in black and white. Its very interesting, although not particular frightening, so its a good movie to watch for people who don’t like Horror movies.

One thought on “10 Vampire Movies Featuring People Of Color

Leave a comment