More Hotly Anticipated Consumables!

I do not necessarily mean that I’m hotly anticipating these movies. Somebody, somewhere is though, and since I just went on YouTube to see what new trailers came out, this is my list. Some of these are movies I mentioned before, but there’s a couple of new ones here, or just new trailers for stuff I’m still excited about!

But, you will definitely know which ones I’m excited to see.

Alien: Romulus

I finally got hold of a trailer for this and the trailer looks good. It looks genuinely frightening! My anxiety levels shot up to about 9.5 on my Nope-a- Meter, which means I will not be sitting in a dark theater watching this movie.

It’s directed by Fede Alvarez, the guy who brought us The Evil Dead remake and Don’t Breathe, two films I really liked. It was initially set to be released on Hulu, but that was changed to theaters, and I hope it succeeds as a hit. I will rent it on Amazon or something as soon as its on streaming, so I can watch this at home, and turn it off when it gets to be too much. I love Horror movies but some Horror movies can be too scary. Speaking of which, its probably time to make another post about movies that are too scary, even for me!

Furiosa

Yeah. Yeah. I know. This is really just a cash-grab, (even though we were kinda asking for this) but dayyum, y’all!!! This movie looks like FIRE!!! I’m really starting to fall in love with Anya Taylor-Joy, where she appears to be successfully channeling Charlize Theron, and I am interested in Furiosa’s backstory. This is one I want to see in the theater. I think I’ll invite one of my nieces.

Boy Kills World

This movie looks crazy. I really want to check this one. Its giving off Suicide Squad, John Wick, The Crow vibes, and I’m here for it. I dont think its going to be playing in a theater near me, because its kind of indie, but I will definitely be checking this out when it streams.

Fall Out

I ain’t gonna lie! They had me with the first trailer, with this beautiful imagery, and the opening strains of Nat King Cole’s I Don’t Want To See Tomorrow. I’m always a sucker for King Cole. This is definitely “hot” and “anticipated” by me. It doesn’t hurt that this is by the same guy that brought me so many hours of in-depth thinking in Westworld.

This is based on videogames I have never played (although I have looked at the game art books), so I had to do a quick 101 on the world of the game, which was fun. I found out some interesting things like ghosts and other eldritch beings exist in this universe. I wasn’t expecting that. I thought it was a straightforward apocalyptic drama type of thing, but apparently, it’s a lot weirder.

Rebel Moon Pt. 2

I didn’t find the first part of this movie satisfactory, but tried to keep in mind that its just the first part of a movie and this is the part where all the characters and stakes are introduced. It felt unfinished because it is…get this…unfinished! So, when the second part of this gets released next month I’ll be watching the two back to back. This is the longform trailer for the second half. I really really like this trailer, even though I feel Zack Snyder should maybe cool it on the use of slow motion.

The Crow

I’ve been hearing loyalists to the first movie panning this one already, and I’m not listening. Thye can dismiss this if they want to but I won’t. I absolutely love the first movie. Me and my Art school friends loved that movie multiple times! I went out and bought any books associated with the franchise over the years, because there’s a ton of books out there about The Crow, and although the first movie was perfection (even with the tragic death of the lead actor), just about any kind of story can be told using this motif.

I’ve said it before, that its hard to improve on perfection, and that first movie was as well made as it could possibly get, but I’m not sure this is that kind of remake. It has a different plot for one thing. So far, I’m liking Skarsgaard, and Danny Huston is always a draw. I just really like him. I don’t know much about FKA Twigs other than she’s a rapper/performer and I’ve listened to a couple of her songs. She has a cute accent in this movie though. I like the music in the trailer and the action looks wild, so I’m gonna be there in the theater, popcorn in hand, hoping to have a good time.

I don’t know that I’ll go see this multiple times, but I will invite my nephew to see this with me, since he really loves the Moon Knight TV series and the John Wick movies.

The Wild Robot

This some beautiful wholesome stuff that I can take my youngest niece to see. She hipped mt ot the Disney film Elemental which I really enjoyed a lot so I’m going to return the favor and ask if she wants to go see this. Her tastes are pretty wide ranging. She likes children’s cartons like Despicable me, Horror movies like M3gan, TV shows like Stranger Things, and some romantic comedies.

I like that she’s not limiting herself to just one or two types of films. She’s willing to try different things until she finds something she likes, but that also makes it hard to suggest something she will be excited to see. I kinda have to wait until she demands (because she does not believe in making requests) that we go see something. I really want to see this so I’m going to ask her.

The 3 Body Problem

This based on the Science Fiction novels of Chinese writer Cixin Liu. I have read some of his work, although not this particular one. He also wrote The Wandering Earth for those of you who are fans of that series. I have not watched that one, but I plan to watch this one since I’m always up for a good First Contact drama.

Interview With The Vampire (Season Two)

I’m ready to fully immerse myself in the world of Interview With the Vampire once again. I’ve been waiting to see a longer trailer for this second season of the series. There is a new Claudia because the last actress ahd to move on to some new things but I like this new girl so far. The actor playing Louis is his usual exemplary self, and at the end of the last season we were introduced to his long-time lover, The Vampire Armand, and naturally all of the copies of this book have just been checked out at my library!

I hope, at some point, we will get Armand’s backstory, where we will be introduced to Marius who is one of my favorite characters. (He also has a most fascinating backstory.) I skipped the Mayfair Witches series because I didn’t care for the rather bland lead actress, and I have never found witches to be particularly interesting characters. Vampires, on the other hand, are always fascinating.

The Acolyte

I missed the last Star Wars series, Andor, and I didn’t get a chance to finish Ahsoka, before something that was shinier distracted me. Both series are in a backlog of other shows I have not had the time to watch because I keep watching things I already watched whenever I’m idle.

But I like this trailer and I’m curious to see what this series is about. Its interesting to see Jedi fighting without lightsabers, and I wonder what that’s about or if this is something unique to that particular character. Of course no story about the Jedi would be complete without the addition of some Sith. I am told that this story takes places about a hundred years before the rise of the Empire and the birth of Anakin Skywalker.

Kaos

Imma be honest, they had me at Jeff Goldblum. Thas all they had to say, and they put that right at the top! I have no idea what this is about, nor do I care, even after watching this trailer several times, because it’s JEFF! Goldblum!!

No, seriously, I don’t even care what the plot is about.

Harold and the Purple Crayon

I’m putting this here because I have very fond memories of reading this story as a child. It was one of my absolute favorites. I will not be going to the theater to see this though. I will watch it when it streams, but I am very excited that a trailer was finally released for this movie, and I thought you guys might get a big kick out of seeing it, especially those of you who remember this story as happily as I do!

Deadpool and Wolverine

My nephew and I made a pact to go see this all the MCU films together, so this one is on the list. See, movies are not just about a film being good. A lot of the reason I love the films I love is because of the memories and people associated with it. There are a number of films I love not because they are great films, but because I watched them, for the first time, with my Mom, and she loved them, even though the film might not have been to my taste. We shared a thing, and watching it again brings back memories of having these moments with her.

Fortunately, my nephew and I are huge Marvel fans, although our love for the superhero genre comes from different places. Mine comes from having read all the comic books as a kid, and his comes from the movies themselves and informational videos on Youtube, but his love for the genre is genuine, and we both share this thing. I am not an MCU fan just because I’m excited to see superheroes I read about as a child on the big screen. I love these movies because this is something I can share with the people I love.

Borderlands

Well, this trailer looks pretty zany, and its got Cate Blanchett in it. I love Cate, but I’m probably not going to see this in the theater, unless one of my family members says lets go see it, which I very much doubt will happen. I really do like this trailers though and I love the cast, which includes Kevin Hart, and the movie looks like a fun time. I know Kevin Hart is not everyone’s cup of tea but Imma fan because he has made me laugh on a consistent basis often enough (Jumanji) that I trust he’ll make me laugh during this movie.

2 thoughts on “More Hotly Anticipated Consumables!

  1. I too am a lover of all things Skarsgaard.

    My daughter is a big fan of FKA twigs. It sucks that she’s going to die, but I also love to seeing Black women being loved.

    I kinda teared up on that line “to survive we must become more than what we were programed to be.”

    I’m officially excited to see interview the vampire! That first trailer had me feeling iffy. For the first season, one of my best friends and I dressed up as vampires and did a watch party! Super fun!!!

    These are random comments, but I followed your blog for years and i love to read your posts. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment