Most Anticipated Visuals of 2024

Deadpool and Wolverine

This is the movie my nephew and I are most looking forward to watching this Summer. We’re both big Deadpool fans, we both like Wolverine, so… Not sure how this movie is going to play out, but I’m hopeful that it will be as much fun as the first two Deadpool movies, and at least as much fun as the comic books.

The Quiet Place: Day One

This is going to be a great year for Horror movies, starting with one of my favorite franchises, The Quiet Place. I greatly enjoyed the first two films, which, while full of some pretty scary moments, and are definitely considered Creature Features, I still classify as being more alongside the Action genre. It also happens to star two of my favorite actors, Lupita Nyong’o and Djimon Hounsou. Despite loving the movie American Fiction, I actually do like watching movies with multiple Black actors where the subject doesn’t revolve around racial issues. It should be a perfectly normal thing to see Black actors in all kinds of different movies.

Interview With the Vampire Season 2

I greatly enjoyed season one of this series and I’m excited to immerse myself back in this world again. Even though the actress who played Claudia has left the show, (she was a lot of fun), I’m still ready to watch this. I loved the characters and their interactions with each other, and the season left off on something of a cliffhanger.

Dune (Pt. 2)

Again, I enjoyed the first part of this and I’m excited to enter this world of Dune again. Denis Villeneuve has done an excellent job with this franchise.

Fallout

I’ve never played these games and know almost nothing at all about the lore of this world, so I had to take a quick crash course to understand some of the images I saw in the trailer. I’m excited to visit this place based solely on the strength of the trailer! I hope it’s as interesting as the trailer suggests.

Shogun

I already mentioned my love for the original film, so I’m eagerly awaiting the premiere of this remake next week.

Avatar

I think we can all agree the movie was a disaster, but based on the trailer, this series looks pretty good, and faithful enough to the original to merit a look-see.

House of Ninja

I have not started this series yet, but it looks like fun.

IF

I think I will prefer this over the Horror movie about imaginary friends. Don’t get me wrong, I’m definitely going to check out the Horror movie, but the addition of Ryan Reynolds makes this one look more fun.

Furiosa

I am not sure we needed a movie about Furiosa’s backstory but this looks very exciting and she is such a beloved character that I guess the filmmakers simply couldn’t resist. I am becoming a huge fan of Anya Taylor-Joy, too. I don’t know that I will see this in the theater. I probably will if one of my nieces would like to join me.

Monkey Man

I am deeply in love with Dev Patel and it is very exhilarating to see him in an Action film ala John Wick style! It does not hurt at all that one of the Producers behind this gem is Jordan Peele, who, as far as I’m concerned, can yet do no wrong onscreen. I am definitely going to see this one in the theater.

Borderlands

I don’t know anything about the original source material (a videogame) on which this movie is based, I just love the idea of this cast (Cate Blanchett, Jack Black, Kevin Hart, and Jamie Lee Curtis) all starring in this silly, cheesy looking, Guardians of the Galaxy/Mad Max ripoff! Pure Popcorn!

The Ones Who Live

I have not watched any of the other Spinoffs from The Walking Dead, but I am invested in the romance of Michonne and Rick, and hope this offers all the feels I’m looking for in a TV series this Spring!

Honorable Mentions:

Axel F – This is one of those Netflix originals type of things. I’m a fan of the Beverly Hills Cop movies and it will be fun to visit with Axel Foley again!

Space Man – I’m not sure I like the idea of a giant talking space spider, but I’m going to watch this because I’ve enjoyed Adam Sandler’s previous non-comedic work.

Rebel Moon Pt. 2 – I hesitate to say this was a good movie because it had some story drawbacks. On the other hand, the story is not finished, so hopefully, the second half of this movie will flesh out the problems of the first half of this movie. The visuals were gorgeous, but that means nothing if the story behind those visuals is lacking.

Road House – I talked about being a fan of the original cheesy film, and this is streaming on Amazon Prime, so I don’t have to worry about spending money on a theater experience. It looks kinda cheesy and fun, like a Saturday afternoon “popcorn/on the couch” event.

Sting – I’ve heard this is a comedy. I will not be seeing this in the theater because again…giant spider!

Abigail – My niece has expressed some interest in watching this vampire ballerina movie. I get it. She loved that Megan film, and seems to have this thing about movies with little girls behaving badly. I’m not sure I want to see this movie but since she has trusted my judgement on choosing movies to watch, I’m trusting her judgement on this.

The Fall Guy – I have memories of having watched the TV show on which this movie is based, but I cannot for the life of me remember anything beyond that it starred Lee Majors, (from The Six Million Dollar Man), who was once married to Farah Fawcett. I like Ryan Gosling. That’s all I got.

Nosferatu – I do not have a trailers for this but its a remake of the original 1920s Silent film by one of my favorite directors, Robert Eggers! It looks as if this will be dropping in December/

War of the Rohirrim – I know nothing about this movie other than its based on Tolkien’s writings and it too is dropping in December. I dont even know who is starring in this yet. I don’t even have a trailer or even an announcement that this is happening. It just showed up on FirstShowing.net

Leave a comment