New Trailers for 2024

Hi guys!

Woo! I need to make up for not posting for so long, I guess.

Here are some more trailers for movies that I’m excited to see this year (and maybe a couple I’m not too excited about but you might love). It looks like this year is going to be a mix of cheesy fun (Godzilla X Kong) and deeply serious films (Dune 2), and I’m here for both these things, although I am still very much in my lighthearted phase of television viewing.

Argyle

I am not especially excited to see this movie, but it does look like a fun ride for someone. I’m sure some people are gonna have a good time watching this, although I am a lot more interested in the cat.

The Tiger’s Apprentice

This is the type of movie I’d enjoy watching with my nephew who loves martial arts movies. This looks like a fun afternoon at my sister’s house.

Spaceman

I have deeply mixed feelings about this one. On the one hand, Adam Sandler is bringing it in his more serious roles, so I’m looking forward to his acting here, but the other character is a giant talking spider, and I don’t know that I want to subject myself to that for an entire movie.

Furiosa

This is very obviously a cash-grab, but I don’t care. I loved the 2015 Fury Road movie so much that I’m willing to sit through this to find out more about the lead character of that film, Furiosa. I hope it lives up to the hype of this trailer.

The Monkey Man

This is a movie that’s produced by Jordan Peele but it doesn’t look like a Horror movie. It looks more like one of his more comedic entries. I’m a huge fan of Dev Patel, and I really enjoy seeing him branch out into all of these rather odd roles, as he navigates his path through the Hollywood typecasting machine. I’m willing to pay money to see this team-up at the theater.

Road House

I liked Patrick Swayze’s silly original and this seems to capture at least some of that vibe, so I’m willing to check this out if its on a streaming service but not if its in the theater.

Godzilla X Kong: New Empire

I got nothing!

I don’t know what to think about this one except I’m sure it looks like great cheesy fun to someone.

Enjoy!

Abigail

This kind of reminds me heavily of the movie Megan only with vampires. I will probably end up watching this with my niece (the little sister of The Potato) who loves to see movies about little girls behaving very badly. I have to admit I’m not immune to that topic myself. Once again, it looks more than a little cheesy but it also looks like great fun.

Nosferatu

Well, I think the original film is deliciously scary, I’m a big fan of Robert Eggers, and I really loved the Last Voyage of the Demeter with Monster Dracula, so I’m looking forward to yet another serious take on the Dracula Mythos. I have not seen the 70s remake of the is film but I’m going to watch both the 1927 version and that remake before I see this one at the end of this year.

Avatar: The Last Airbender

I’m looking forward to this in the hopes that it will correct the mistakes of the movie version. So far, it looks pretty accurate to the cartoon, and I really like the visuals. My only drawback is that it still has the Netflix look that all their films have which has the unintended side effect of making all their live action anime remakes blend together.

Despicable Me 4

This looks like something my niece would enjoy. I might enjoy this too, since she forced me to watch a couple of the other Minions movies with her. I’m starting to trust her judgement a little bit more about what kinds of films are okay to watch. She definitely has an eye for the kind of stuff she likes and is willing to sit through, and seems to want to return the favor of me recommending movies to her since she was very little. There have been three or four movies that she strongly suggested I watch with her and so far she’s been right each time. I did enjoy all of them, even though a couple of them were just a little bit out of my usual comfort zone.

Leave a comment