5 Trailers Of Hotly Anticipated Projects

(Mostly Just By Me Though)

The Continental

I am of mixed emotions regarding this TV series. I love the John Wick movies because of their sheer levels of Ultra-violence, and I was looking forward to this, but this just doesn’t look as good, the lead actor seems rather bland, and it stars Mel Gibson, someone I’ve grown an aversion to since I found out waaay too much information about him.

The Pros: It looks pretty and atmospheric. It’s set in the 70s and someone remembered that Black women existed back then. The action scenes look okay. Its only 3 episodes, so it doesnt require a major investment of time and emotional energy from me.

The Cons: It stars Mel Gibson. The lead actor is incredibly boring and forgettable, and the plot is bog-standard heist movie stuff (but that’s okay sometimes).

Verdict: I will probably watch this while grimacing at Mel Gibson’s face.

The Book of Clarence

I am in love with LaKeith Stanfield and have been ever since I watched his crazy ass character in the TV series Atlanta. He has been in a a number of good quality productions like Sorry To Bother You and The Black Western, The Harder They Fall (one of my personal favorites). Here he is in a New Testament Parody film about an ancient con-artist who wants to be as famous as Jesus. I’m not sure if this is a condemnation of religion in general or Christianity or what (and I don’t care if it is), but I really like LaKeith, so I will probably watch this.

It’s being released in January, and I hope it does well. I especially want all those people who keep whining about how films aren’t being original anymore to go see this film. Its not a sequel, or a franchise, and doesn’t have any superheroes in it (unless you count Jesus, I guess).

The Cons: It stars Benedict Cummmerbund.

The Changeling

LaKeith is also starring in this little gem based on a Horror/Fantasy novel written by one of my favorite authors, Victor Lavalle about a man who discovers something bizarre about his life after his wife commits a horrible crime. I do not have Apple Tv but I will try to find a way to watch this because it seems intriguing. Perhaps if this series does well, I may get to see one of my favorite Lavalle stories, The Ballad of Black Tom, on the big screen one day.

You should probably check out these stories even if you have no intention of ever watching this series because Lavalle is a fantastic Horror writer.

Rebel Moon

I’m probably one of ten people that are really big fans of Zack Snyder, so I am really looking forward to this. I heard it was supposed to be a Star Wars movie but Disney rejected it and Netflix said they would take it and that he could do whatever he wanted, so Snyder fans have been hearing about this project for about two years now, its almost here, and all ten of us are very excited!

Pros: I also like the word building in Star Wars and this looks very Star Wars-y, with aliens and stuff. It looks like a fun adventure. I also do not need to go to a theater or spend extra money to see it.

Cons: There are no drawbacks to me watching this. I’m glad Mel Gibson isn’t in it.

Percy Jackson and the Olympians

I know nothing about the Percy Jackson books this movie is based on, but I bet my niece and nephew do. I mostly want to see it because of the usual loudmouthed bigots who were protesting the casting of the little Black girl in the movie ( and I like her face.) They raised such a stink that the author himself had to go online and chew them out about it, saying the decision was final, and he’s fine with it.

Pros: I always try to support those projects that remember that Black women exist and that we also like to have adventures, and its airing on Disney+.

Cons: I know nothing about the Percy Jackson book series other than the broad idea that it involves the children of the Greek gods of old.

2 thoughts on “5 Trailers Of Hotly Anticipated Projects

Leave a comment