10 of the Worst Cliches in Fiction Writing

Writing Is Hard Work

If you like to read like Mr. Bemis, then you notice these, too. If you like to read like Mr. Bemis, then you notice these, too.

I’m a reader because all good writers are readers.  Mostly, however, I read because I love to read.  I am in many ways like Henry Bemis in “Time Enough At Last”, adapted from a Lyne Venable short story which chronicles the sad life of a chronic reader.  I’m so glad I have a Kindle Paperwhite, because if I had to buy all the books I read my house would be full of them.

The beef I have with modern fiction is that it tends to wax cliche more often than not.  I hope I never use any of these horrible cliches I’m about to list.  If you use them, dear writer, I pray you revise them right out of your narrative.  I think when you read them you will agree that these cliches need to go.

  1. Seer Statements

View original post 939 more words

