Coming Soon To A TV Near You

May 5th

Sense8 -Netflix

The second season of Sense8 has already begun. The showrunners are still the Wachowski Sisters. Well one of the sisters, anyway. The show has run into some criticism for its depiction of its characters of color, but is lauded for having some of the best depictions of LGBTQ characters in the genre. There’s also Freema Agyeman in the cast, which is always a plus.  I’m planning to binge it this weekend, if I can, because I enjoyed the first season. I may or may not give a review, depending on how I manage my time.

https://www.theverge.com/2017/5/9/15550466/netflix-sense8-jamie-clayton-freema-agyeman-interview

May 19th

12 Monkeys – Syfy

I know nothing about this show other than the title, how much I’ve been meaning to watch it, and that it’s been getting some very good reviews. One of these days…

May 21st

Twin Peaks – Showtime

The return of Twin Peaks is being eagerly anticipated. I was never a huge fan of the original show, but I heard a metric ton about how wonderful it was. Every critic talked about this show. I know bits and pieces about some of the characters, and that’s it. I’m including this here because I know some of you still love the show. It still stars many of the original characters, and my understanding is that, like The X-Files, it’s a limited continuation of the series. I won’t be watching this because I don’t subscribe to this network, but I will be monitoring it through reviews and trailers, just in case things get out of hand, and I need to jump into action.

May 29th 

Still Star Crossed – ABC

People have been eagerly anticipating a date for this, and it’s almost here. I’ve liked the various adaptations of Romeo and Juliet, I’m a fan of Shakespeare, and since this is a little racebent, I thought I might enjoy it. Apparently, it takes place after the deaths of Romeo and Juliet, and involves the coping and machinations of their two families. This is a Shondaland Joint, and while I don’t normally watch any of her shows, I have tremendous respect for her, and this looks like something I could get into. It’s on regular network TV though, and I feel some kind of way about them canceling the show the moment I start to like it, because that’s how they roll.

 

June 4th

Fear the Walking Dead – FX

I think the original The Walking Dead is enough zombies for me in one year. I don’t dislike this show. It looks pretty good, and it gets good reviews, but The Walking Dead is such a heavy show, I can’t subject myself to another show that’s just as heavy, and about zombies, so soon after the finale of the original. (I’m just so taaahd!) Seriously though, The Walking Dead needs a cool-down period, an after-party, or something.

June 6th

Shadowhunters – Freeform

I wasn’t as impressed with this show as the fans on Tumblr. I thought I’d try it out because it keeps scrolling across my dashboard, and all the actors are really cute. The show strikes me as a combination of Buffy/Riverdale Lite. Although I wasn’t impressed, even though I  like the character, Magnus, and the show has some good LGBT representation in his relationship with Alec, I’m no longer watching it . There’s too much schmacting in it for my taste, but I respect that some people really  love it.

June 9th

Dark Matter – Syfy

I  just started watching Dark Matter last season. The plot was compelling enough to hold my attention, and the characters were likable. I do remember not liking any of the characters when it first aired, but the plot and characters have shown tremendous improvement, and the show has some good representation of women and MoC. I’m looking forward to the new season, but I won’t be reviewing the series.

Wynonna Earp – Syfy

I checked out of this series about halfway through the first season because I didn’t have time to watch it. I’ve heard good things about it though, and it too, has some adequate LGBT representation.I remember I sorta liked the first episode but I didn’t keep up with it much after that. I’ll be watching the new season, and we’ll see if I can pick up where I left off, without getting too lost.

June 14th

Blood Drive – Syfy

Okay, this show sounds utterly batshit. It’s a kind of Mad Max hybrid, where people have run out of oil, and vehicles now run on human blood. I don’t normally watch this kind of grindhouse, Robert Rodriguez, type stuff, but I’m going to give it a try. I know the show looks, and  sounds gross, but c’mon…it has cannibal  in it, and cars that eat people!

June 22nd

The Mist – Spike

It doesn’t look as scary as the movie, but I’m going to check it out, and give you guys a report. It looks like it’s got all new monsters than the movie, and that may be due to budgetary constraints. It also looks like it’s taking place over more than one location, so that’s on the plus side. I also hope we get to see the pharmacy event. In the story, we only encountered the aftermath. A large part of the actual story is taken up with the sounds of the mist, so I hope the show pays attention to the audio factor,  as that will go a long way towards capturing the dread.

June 25th

Preacher – AMC

I totally loved the first season of this, and I’m really hoping it will blow up the same way Into the Badlands did, after airing on Netflix.  I love shows with crazy plots and characters, so this is just right for me. (Yes, I have been watching Fargo, just in case anyone was asking.)

June 30th

Killjoys – Syfy

I got away from watching this because  of time limitations. The Syfy Network has really turned itself around, but  now it  has so many good shows, that I don’t have time to watch any of them. I also like Z Nation, The Expanse, and several others.  I’ve heard great things about the racial representation of these shows, and want to support them. Please do not tell me to record anything else, though. I already have a bunch of shows, on my DVR, that I’m not looking at.  Killjoys will probably become one of those shows.

 

July 12th

Midnight Texas – NBC

I’m really looking forward to this. I’m still dithering on whether or not I should read the books, or watch the show and just go with the crazy. I only hope it’s as good as True Blood’s first two seasons.

July 16th

Game of Thrones – HBO

Every season I say I’m going to watch this show, and then I dither around and skip the first five, or six episodes. Then, along comes that one episode per season, that everybody talks about, and I end up finishing out the rest of the season. I do not consider myself a fan of this show though. I watch just enough of it to know who everyone is, and I don’t like most of the characters anyway, so I guess I’m gonna follow my usual pattern of indifferent viewership.

 

August 18th

The Defenders – Netflix

I am cautiously excited about this, despite the presence of Danny Rand. Probably because, even though I hated the series Jessica Jones, and Daredevil grew increasingly annoying, these characters are quite enough to offset my dislike of Danny Rand. Also, Finn Jones acting (and fighting) looks a little bit better than when he was in his own series. (Finn Jones is still a total douche, but that ain’t none of my bidness.) I’m  also probably just excited to see the interaction even between characters I partially dislike. Sometimes a character, by themself, can be extremely annoying, but if you pair that person with the right foil, they become great.

 

Honorable Mention:

Teen Wolf – MTV:  will be ending its six season run  sometime this Summer, but I don’t have a solid date for it, yet.

Bonus Round: 

The new trailer for Bladerunner came out this week. I’m sort of on the fence about seeing this. I hate to sound like this,  but I am just exceptionally tired of these all- White futures. Where in the fucking Hell are all the PoC? And Hollywood keeps doing this shit! You mean to tell me  they can imagine snakes made out of water, flying cars, elves, living statues, and zombies, but can’t imagine PoC living in the year 2049? This also prompts the disturbing question of where the Hell we all went? Was there some sort of mass exodus to our own planet? Were we all killed off by the plague, White people, rabid bunnies? Wtf?

Anyway here’s the new trailer. See if you can spot any PoC:

Okay, is it just me, or does Ryan Gosling always look like he’s about to start crying, but never actually does. He always has this weird, half-smiling, facial expression. I don’t know anything about Mr. Gosling, having never watched even one of his movies, but I know he’s a huge deal to some people, and this would be my first time watching him in anything. (That is not a bid for recommendations, becuz I just know y’all gonna come in here to try to give me some!)

 

Bonus Bonus Round:

Yaaay!!! I just finished reading American Gods. I do confess that I mostly listened to the audiobook, but it was still pretty cool. It has a veeeery interesting plot, and I’m kinda mad I had not read this book sooner. I just kept putting it off.

So there! I am officially ready to provide any and all spoilers for the American Gods TV show. Tag me! I’m Spoiler Adjacent!

