Coming Soon!

Cloak and Dagger

I have been a long time Cloak and Dagger fan, from the comic books, and I have to admit I was more than a little dubious about them making a show about this. Cloak and Dagger is a comic book, that came out in the eighties, about a pair of teenagers who, through some drug experimentation by criminals, developed superpowers.

In the comic books, Cloak had the ability to eat people’s life energy by enveloping them in a semi-sentient cloak, and Dagger had the ability to produce light from her hands and throw it like knives. There were more than a few stereotypes involving the light and purity of Dagger, with various people coveting her, and wanting to save her from that evil and frightening black  guy she hung around with.

I’m still side-eyeing this show a little bit, because there’s so much potential to fuck it up, and the Freeform channel doesn’t really have a track record on racial issues. But I’m happy to see the trailer anyway, and I’m glad they’ve decided to go for a more wholesome looking approach to the characters, and their relationship looks really sweet, because I always felt the two characters were  too heavily sexualized.

Well, they seem to be handling the backstory a bit differently than in the comic books, updating it to the current age, and its social issues. At the time it was released, the crack epistemic was tearing through black neighborhoods, and everyone was really up in arms about that particular issue. When Cloak and Dagger got their powers, their first priority was saving kids from drug culture.

This show won’t air until 2018 on the Freeform Network.

 

 

American Gods

I am almost finished with reading the book, just in time to catch the premiere, airing this weekend. Yes, I plan to review it because I want to compare the book to the show, although the adaption looks pretty faithful to the source, as far as the various characters. This was created for TV by Bryan Fuller, the creator of the Hannibal series, and I loved what he did on that show, so much, that I’ll follow him anywhere. American Gods airs on the Starz Network, so if you don’t have cable, I think they have some kind of app.

 

Preacher

This show has been renewed for a second season on AMC. If you haven’t seen the first season,  it might help a bit to watch that, so you can have some background as to why a preacher, a black woman, and a vampire, are on a road trip. Jessie, Tulip, and Cassidy, are looking for God because they have some pressing questions for him, after Jessie received  superpowers from possession by a celestial being.

I only got a chance to review the first episode of the show, but I did watch and love the entire season. It was pretty wild. I have a hard time choosing a favorite character, but I’m leaning towards Tulip, and not just because its Ruth Negga. I would’ve probably liked Tulip no matter who the actress was because she’s like a female version of Coyote.

Anyway the second season is airing on June 19th. So, I have something good to watch in midsummer, besides re-runs.

 

Gotham

Tonight is the mid-season premiere of, of all things, Gotham, a show I stopped watching some time ago, despite the presence of Jada Pinkett-Smith. I thought the acting was just too uneven, and had a hard time getting into the characters.

Well its back!

 

Genius

I am a  science stan, so I will be watching Genius ,which is a bio of Albert Einstein, who is one of my favorite scientists. Genius airs this Tuesday, on  the National Geographic Network.

 

The Handmaids Tale

This show airs on Hulu. I remember trying to read the book when I was a teenage but was so disgusted with the worldbuilding that I had to put the book down. Its not a bad book, but I’m never going to be in the frame of mind to read it. It also has some deeply disturbing racial implications that, because some people don’t realize intersectionality is a thing, aren’t going to be writing about in all their little thinkpieces on the subject:

 

Still Star Crossed 

This show finally gets a release date of May 29th. I love Hsakespeare, and this looks like an entirely appropriate, racebent, version of Romeo and Juliet, which I’m really looking forward to. It appears to be set after theevents of the original story, so the characters are not actually Romeo and Juliet, though.

 

 

Sense8 Season Two

I watched the first season of this and rather enjoyed it. I’m not sure if I reviewed it, but I definitely liked the diversity and representation. The first season ended with the group having to save one of its members for government experimentation, and this season looks like a typical “chased by the government” type of plot, but the show is so gorgeous, and I like the premise and ideas of the show, and I liked the characters, so I’ll binge this one, when I get the chance.  This airs on Netflix May 5th.

 

 

Dear White People

Dear White People will be airing on Netflix this Weekend. I didn’t watch the movie but then I often avoid movies dealing with racial issues. Get Out is the first movie I’ve seen, in a long time, that had anything to do with race in the plot. I feel some kind of way about that, but really, its just not my go to subject matter. As a Black woman I deal enough with issues of media and race, I’m not going to watch movies about it too, that’s just too much for me. I’ll be skipping this one, but you guys might want to check it ou,t if you really liked the movie.

 

Also coming this Summer:

The midseason return of Lucifer. I dont watch this because I find hte lead actor deeply annoying, but I have it on good authority that some interesting new characters have been introduced.

The Victorian Slum airs on PBS next week, combining my favorite topics , Victorianism, and documentaries.

In June there’s Shadowhunters Season Two, Dark Matter, Wynonna EarpFear the Walking Dead, and Orphan Black.

The bottom line is, there will plenty for everyone to watch this summer, instead of re-runs of shows that are on hiatus.

Leave a Reply

