Ofra Haza

This is my musical interlude for the week, while I work on some stuff, I’ve got coming up soon. I keep having to remind myself there’s no schedule for any of these posts. I don’t have to do them right away or in a timely fashion, as this is for fun, and not my job. But my inner Type A won’t shut the Hell up, so I will continue to have anxieties about late posts, I guess.

I first discovered Ofra at the tail end of her popularity in the early 90’s. My roommate had an album of Ofra Haza’s remixes ,of which Galbi and Im Nin Alu were my two favorites. Subsequently, that album did, in fact, go  missing (into my collection), after I “borrowed” it.

Ofra Haza was born in Tel Aviv, of Yemenite Jewish ancestry. She has since passed on. She died in 2000 of AIDS related pneumonia.

