R.I.P. Mary Tyler Moore

The first time I saw Mary was in The Dick Van Dyke Show and I think I fell in love with her a little bit then. She was  the first female comedian to make me laugh, and that was  before Lucy or Phyllis Diller.  I was maybe six or seven at the time, but I actually grew up watching The Mary Tyler Moore show, after it went into syndication.

 It used to come on late at night (or very early in the morning) depending on whether or not I was supposed to up or not. I liked her quirkiness. I liked her spunkiness, too. She always seemed so happy and effervescent, even when she was sad. She was an example of singlehood for a nascent 8yr. old feminist, and c’mon! her shows just made you feel good, the future was wide open, and full of flowers and rainbows, and that’s not a bad thing little girls to see on TV. 

And yeah, I know all the words to the theme song, too. 

One thought on “R.I.P. Mary Tyler Moore

  1. myfaketvboyfriend

    RIP Mary! I watched her on the Dick Van Dyke Show-those capri pants and capezios! And then again on the MTM Show. Again, a fashion icon and a symbol of womans rights.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.