Colorful Oscars

article by Sameer Rao via colorlines.com Reversing course from last year, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences honored “Moonlight,” “Fences,” “Hidden Figures” and other people of color-centered works with Oscar nominations today (January 24). The three films, each of which features a predominantly Black cast, compete in the “Best Picture” and “Writing (Adapted Screenplay)” categories. Actresses Viola Davis (“Fences”), Naomie Harris (“Moonlight”) and Octavia Spencer (“Hidden […]

via ‘Moonlight,’ ‘Fences,’ ‘Hidden Figures’ and Actors of Color Make Oscar History — GOOD BLACK NEWS

3 thoughts on “Colorful Oscars

  1. Well, it’s been a while! There have been some really great movies starring actors of color within the past year or so. Even so, the Oscars is an extremely boring ceremony, and despite being happy about some of the nominations I still won’t be watching. Besides, I think I know who’s going to win.

    I predict Ruth Negga or Emma Stone for Best Actress, and hopefully Viola Davis or Octavia Spencer for Best Supporting Actress. Meryl Streep’s always winning Oscars, so I definitely wouldn’t mind seeing Davis or Spencer get multiple wins. Ryan Gosling will most-likely win for La La Land. He’s attractive, and like Leonardo DiCaprio he should’ve already won an Oscar by now (for Blue Valentine or The Believer), so I think they’ll just give it to him this time around.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I used to watch the Oscars like a religion. I stopped though becasue it just got boring and I’m not a Kimmel fan so I have plans to watch this year. i love the nominees but I just hate Emma Stone’s pasty ass, so i hope she goes home with nothing. She better not win against Streep who I actually like.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I never watch, but every year I accurately pick the winners. I think it’s because the Academy often chooses who they think will sell magazines or looks good in photographs. To some, Ruth Negga is visually racially ambiguous, so she appeals to a wider audience. Plus, if they give her the Oscar, the Academy can say: “See, Black People, we aren’t racist.” I’d like to see Fences or Moonlight or Fences win for Best Picture, but I think it’ll go to La La Land, or that boring Mel Gibson movie. I notice they cheated Denzel out of they Best Director nomination. 😑

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.