George Michael Dies at 53

Not content to let us out the fucking door without yet another ass kickin’, 2016 has dropped us another one in the pantsuit again. I guess the price for saving Carrie Fisher was the loss of another celebrity in her place.

I grew up listening to the music of Bowie, Prince and Michael. Their songs were the background music of my life and each decade had a theme. In the seventies it was the funkiness of Prince, in the early eighties it was Rock stylings of Bowie, and  Sting and the Police, and in the nineties, it was George Michael.

I actually was introduced to Michael through the his musical duo Wham, back in the eighties, and I was immediately smitten…by George Michael’s hair. That shit was epic! I fell in love almost immediately. I bought albums, wall posters, magazines with wall posters. I memorized the lyrics to all his most important songs, clocked his dress stylings, and even tried to imitate that, on occasion. (Remember the large men’s  jackets with the rolled up sleeves?)

After Michael left the duo, he discovered a conscience, and during the absolute height of the AIDS crisis, he got outed while visiting a public park that was notorious for clandestine liaisons for gay men. I kinda figured he might be gay, after the song, I Want Your Sex, was released. If you’ve never seen that video, go take a look, and you’ll understand why no one was at all surprised by that revelation, which explains why he was still able to have a career, after the scandal broke.

In 1990 he released  the song, Praying For Time, which affected me so profoundly, that I remember bursting into tears when I first heard it. I cried whenever I heard it. Hell, I cry today. That’s how much that song affected me. But then, George was an absolute master of the sad song and this song is a fitting legacy for a beautiful man, who was deeper than everyone thought he was, and whose life was never boring.

I’m getting older and the Pop stars of my youth aren’t gettting any younger. As time moves onward, I expect to lose more of my icons, and in the famous words of Stephen King, “all that I love will be carried away”.

3 thoughts on “George Michael Dies at 53

  1. myfaketvboyfriend

    I remember taping Wham! on my brand new vcr! I loved them. George was so talented but never seemed to be able to keep it together long enough to become famous famous. I always felt bad for/worried about him.

    “I’m getting older and the Pop stars of my youth aren’t gettting any younger. As time moves onward, I expect to lose more of my icons, and in the famous words of Stephen King, “all that I love will be carried away”.”

    THIS ^ so much! This year especially. Its been a killer year.

    Like

    1. Yeah. The overwhelming consensus seems to be…Fuck 2016! I think I might second that. I should’ve know it wouldn’t be good when I started off the year with appendicitis but I was trying to be optimistic.

      Like

Leave a Reply

