Dark Matter’s Erica Freeman on Trump and Trauma: How the 2016 Debates are Triggering the Hell Out of Me

Dark Matters

Caricature of Donald Trump by DonkeyHotey Caricature of Donald Trump by DonkeyHotey

By Erica K. Freeman

The presidential debates have left me gasping for air.

For years, I’ve experienced an inability to catch my breath whenever stress tightens its hold on me, strangling like a serial killer. It’s usually not debilitating, but it’s always exhausting and frustrating. If the spells last for more than two days, I start wondering if it’s ever going to stop. It always has, but you never know.

This time it’s my own fault. I’ve been watching the Clinton/Trump debates. I’ve been tempted to just read about them the day after and watch an episode of The Andy Griffith Show instead. (Mmmmmmm, comforting.) But, no, I’ve watched the debates, live-tweeting and yelling “no he didn’t!” at the TV for more than an hour each time. Characteristically, Black Twitter has been using humor to cope with the man’s foolishness, which provides a cushion…

View original post 905 more words

Leave a Reply

