Black Childhood Deferred: The Sexualization and Decolorization of Riri Williams

Well stated!

Sublime Zoo

I gotta be honest with y’all: I’m still basking in the afterglow of Luke Cage. So much so that I’m not only planning on a re-watch so I can finally review it as promised but as you saw, I’ve written at least 3 pieces on it already. And you know…I probably would have written more if there weren’t already 36282826829494 other thinkpieces on the internet and I wasn’t out here like Julius with eleventeen jobs.

Still, because Black women in particular to be happy about something for more than 30 seconds (it upsets the balance) before the universe comes through and kicks our shit in like a schoolyard bully, it finally happened.

After being celebrated in Luke Cage, we are back to being shitted on.

Don’t know what I’m talking about? Well, peep these receipts:

Can you spot the difference?

Can you? CAN YOU? Can you? CAN YOU?

If you guessed

View original post 2,049 more words

