Season Premieres

Gotham:

I stopped watching this show at some point in the second season, somewhere around the time Fish Mooney was exiled from Gotham, after Penguin tried to have Gordon kill her. I’m happy to report that the plot  is as wacky as ever, although it looks more sober. The cinematography and color is beautiful. It’s just a pretty show and the actors all  look great. There are more people of color, too. The Vicki Vale from the first Batman movies is now an Asian woman named Valerie Vale, Lucius Fox is working for the police dept.instead of Wayne Enterprises,  while Gordon has retired and become a bounty hunter. Fish is back on the scene, and being her usual troublesome self, and I still like the Penguin. The plot is pretty easy to catch up with.

On the other hand, the plot is just as wacky as ever and the acting needs more work. Selina Kyle, Barbara, and her friend, Tabitha, are the worst actors in the bunch, although I did enjoy  watching them kick some ass. I’m not feeling little Bruce too much though. They could all use a few acting lessons. Except for Sean Perwee as Alfred, who is perfect, as always. The last time I saw him he was bleeding out on the Wayne living room floor. It’s nice to see he survived his semi-lethal stabbing. I’d be upset that all of the PoC are criminals except all of the people in the show are criminals, so what’s to fret?

Fish is now in charge of a gang of monsters from a research facility, that used to exist underneath Arkham Asylum, called Indian Hill. It was run by a man named Hugo Strange, who experimented on the inmates of Arkham, mutating some of them and giving others superpowers, including Mooney, who now has the power to drug her victims into suggestibility. I thought that was kind of cool to be honest. Gordon spends time chasing down Mooney who, with her gang of freaks, have been robbing pharmacies for some special drug they need and  Oswald has put a million dollar bounty on Mooney’s head. The most surprising and fun relationship is the one that’s been developed between Edward Nigma and Oswald. I enjoy watching these two actors together. That is something I remember the show being pretty good at, depicting the relationships between all these different characters. Where it fell flat was the actors who couldn’t hold up their end. Like Selina and Bruce, and Gordon and Lee. Gordon still has only one or two facial expressions so it’s hard to get into him as a character. But oddly enough, you can see the Gordon he’ll become in the Christopher Nolan movies, and I wonder if that’s a conscious choice on the part of the writers.

The rest of the episode consists of lots of drinking, some more beatdowns, thieving, and killing, and lots of information brokering. But it wasn’t a bad episode. I thought it was hella fun actually. I plan to watch this every Monday, if I’m awake.


Brooklyn 99:


This was a great season premiere, even if I didn’t get to see two of my favorite characters, Gina and Rosa. It was all Jake and Holt for the entirety of the show, as the two of them get a fish out of water plot. Last season the two of them had to go into the Witness Protection Program because a hitman was after them. We get to watch Holt completely out of his element but doing very well, actually. There are some nice cameos from Rhea Perlman from Cheers and Maya Rudolph from SNL. 

Jake and Holt start off on the wrong foot, but eventually have to work together, to get themselves out of a  situation with one of their hilariously classless neighbors, who managed to catch the two of them fighting, and threatens to upload the video to YouTube. The show has, over time, been slowly introducing slightly more serious subplots, like Jake and Amy’s relationship,and the  love lives of the various characters. Jake genuinely loves and misses Amy, and it’s really touching that he has a photo of her hanging in his house, and that he talks to it.

 It’s a good, promising start to the season. And I like the humor of this show. It doesn’t rely on putdowns and insults for most of its humor, the characters are all surprisingly supportive of each other, despite their many personality differences, and show genuine affection for one another. Most of the humor arises out of these differences in character, and how different people react to the rather bland police procedural plots. Amy and Rosa are such different people from Gina and Terry that its a lot of fun watching any of the two them team up to tackle one objective. 

Next week, we see how the rest of the crew is holding up without their two mainstays, who has taken Holt’s place, and how Amy is holding up under the pressure of being Charles’ closest friend, in place of Jake.


Pitch:

I feel some kind of way about this show and it’s going to take some time to sort that out, so I’m putting my feelings aside for the moment, and will focus on technical stuff. First of all, the show looks great. It’s a pretty show, with pretty people. There is a lot of Baseball in this show, but that didn’t stop me from getting into the story or having feels. It’s a fairly accurate depiction of how America would react at the first female pitcher in major league baseball, meaning of course that everyone would lose their shit, and act a fool.

 I thought the show might hold back on a couple of angles to make it palatable to the mainstream audience who will watch this show, but it mostly didn’t. Men were acting like assholes about their precious sport being invaded by a woman, and women and girls were ecstatic. The show did leave out the racial angle though, so I didn’t have to listen to the actual racialized, gendered slurs, that we would be subjected to if this were real, for which I’m sort of  grateful. This is something that might be addressed later in the series, but for now, the writers are only sticking with gendered insults. If anything, the show toned down how she might actually be spoken of, and treated, by sports fans and the media.

The entire plot of the episode consists of Ginny, our protagonist, being the starting pitcher for the SanDiego somebody’s, the name has entirely escaped me. For the record, I don’t know shit about baseball, and ain’t looking to learn too much either, beyond some basic terms and phrases. I don’t watch this sport, or keep track of teams, or know anybody’s stats. I know a handful of famous names, and what they were famous for, mostly from listening to more knowledgeable people talking about the subject. Nevertheless, I really got into watching Ginny navigate her fame,and the politics involved with what she’s doing, while trying to appease her father, and I started identying with her almost right away. I also learned that TV show baseball is way more exciting than real life baseball.

Ginny’s current situation is interspersed with flashbacks of her father pushing her to train harder. Her father is tough, but not mean about it, but Ginny does blowup at him after she fails spectacularly, in her first outing as a professional pitcher. Some of the speeches the characters give are cliched, and a couple of the actors need to go back and have some lessons but overall the show is pretty watchable. I kept waiting for the Fox writers to fuck up and throw in some stereotypes, but they behaved themselves, and played things straight.

Now, for how I felt. I both hated and loved this show. I sat in breathless anticipation that there would be some kind of racial fuckup that never came, and I loved  what I saw happening on the screen so much, that I had to keep reminding myself that this was not a real thing, or a true story, and this sort of tension almost brought me to tears. But the show did its job so well, that it felt like I was watching some real event, (minus the misogynoir that would surely happen in the real world.) The main characters are both likable and annoying in equal measure, although the dialogue needs help, because occasionally someone says something that no person in the real world would ever say. 

I don’t know if I’ll watch this every week. It’s a little heavy for weekly viewing, and I don’t know if I have the stamina to keep up with a bunch of heavy shows like this, The Exorcist, and The Walking Dead.


The Exorcist: 


I wasn’t greatly enthused to hear there was going to be a tv remake of The Exorcist,  even though its one of my favorite movies. I normally do not watch possession movies anyway as I consider them all to be cheap rehashes of the original. But this show is not  cheap and looks it. The production values and acting are excellent. I find the plot just complex enough to be intriguing. None of the original character names from the movie are used but the plot is kind of similar. You have a young priest (Thomas) who doesn’t believe in the supernatural, who is approached by Angela, played by Geena Davis, and insists that her daughter is being possessed by a demon. At the same time, we get  glimpses of a Father Merrin type of character, only much younger, named Father Marcus, who is performing an exorcism in Mexico, against church orders. The exorcism is deemed a falilure, as the possessed boy dies. So there are echoes of the plot of the original movie, right down to the rats in the attic scene, which you really need to see.
Father Thomas has visions and cryptic explanations from people about Father Marcus. Angela’s husband is suffering from some type of degenerative disorder of the brain, and her daughter is sullen and unapproachable after leaving college, after she had a car accident in which a close friend died. Angela implies there was more than friendship involved. 

So, the story has been lengthened and deepened for the original but in a good way. I’m not a religious person and the show wasn’t offensive to me, but I approach religious shows and movies much the same way I approach most fantasy, willing to suspend disbelief for an hour or two. Everything is played completely straight. This is serious business,  a little heavy for a Friday night, and the show has a couple of genuinely scary moments. I still don’t see too many people tuning in to be scared on Friday night primetime, and I don’t think this will ever rival the popularity of The Walking Dead, but it’s a very good effort.

I like that we see Father Thomas with his family. He has a sister and a nephew who I’m sure will be put in jeopardy during the course of the show. The show made a point of showing different familial interactions. Angela’s family vs. Thomas family. As happens in the movie, Father Thomas enlists Father Marcus’ aid in an exorcism. Maybe. Since he doesn’t believe in the supernatural, he’s not sure, and it is strongly implied, to the viewer, that Father Marcus is mentally unstable.

So yeah, I’m interested. I’m not in love yet. It’s only the first episode, but I will tune in next week as the plot deepens even further with the knowledge that there are more demons causing havoc throughout the city of Chicago.


Agents of Shield:


Yeah, alright I liked it. I hadn’t seen an episode since first season when I got pissed off at the depictions of all the PoC as criminals. That wasn’t my only complaint. There were a few more, like the writing and acting was less than compelling. Well, I’m happy to report that this is a marked improvement from the first season. I still don’t know enough to say how they’re treating the PoC on the show, but certainly the plot and acting is better.

This episode is fairly easy to follow, even if I didn’t know everybody’s names. A number of the original cast is still present. Melinda May is still a badass. Coulson is a lot  more likable and a lot less stiff, although he apparently lost a hand since I’ve been away. Daisy is the character who has gone through the most radical change, as she started out as the annoyingly  perky tech girl. I hear she’s been through some shit in the past two years, though. She has superpowers now, has been revealed as an Inhuman, and now  calls herself Quake. 

I grew up reading about The Inhumans, which are a group of superpowered beings that lived on the moon, I think. There’s also a group of Inhuman people who have been transformed by something called the Terrigen Mists. I’m not sure what type of Inhuman Daisy is, or even if I’m talking about the same beings mentioned in the show. For all I know it could be some new group not mentioned in the comic books, although in the new Marvel comic books, Inhumans are seemingly normal human beings, with a certain genetic ancestry, that when it comes in contact with the Terrigen Mists, they develop superpowers. If this is so, then the show is directly following what’s happening in the comic books. I know it’s following stuff from the movies because occasionally characters mention something that happened only in the films.

I also read Ghostrider when I was a kid too. Actually there have been several Ghostriders ,which is a type of vengeance demon, that needs a human host, who has to pledge to be possessed by it. This  usually happens in some moment of duress. The one I read about in the comic books was named Johnny, and was a racecar driver who made a deal to avoid death. He drove a motorcycle, like in the movies. Other than the movies being so incredibly awful that they were also incredibly fun, the origin story really isn’t that different from the comics. 

This new version of Ghostrider is named Robbie Reyes, and played by Gabriel Luna . He drives a muscle car, and works as a part time mechanic at a junkyard. Yeah, I liked him. I haven’t read the comic version of this character, but I love the idea that he drives a muscle car, which is entirely fitting to the type of person Reyes is. The show is a little coy, but not shy about introducing him. He puts in an appearance right away, at the top of the show, when he and Daisy chase down some thieves. The plot mostly consists of people hunting each other. Daisy is tracking Robbie. Coulson’s team is tracking Daisy. Robbie is tracking, and killing the thieves. 

There’s another character named Yoyo that I’m not familiar with (and refuse to Google her, lest I fond disappointment) and I love her. She has a great voice, and is a person  of some ancestry, but I have no idea what. Parts of the show are still kind of cheesy and some of the accents I heard could use some work, but the creators went out of their way to make Ghostriders entrance spectacular, for which they should be roundly applauded. If you don’t care for the show, you should still check out this particular episode, just for the  Ghostrider stuff, cuz those parts were fun. There’s still too much talking though.

It’s interesting that the MCU, of which this show is a part, just as much as Daredevil or Jessica Jones, has started introducing more occult type stuff. I blame the Dr.Strange movie. I like the show just okay, but I love the Ghostrider and the new badass Daisy, to go along with the other badass, Melinda May. I don’t know if I’ll watch this every week, but I am definitely in for the Ghostrider arc.


Falling Water:


This is Gale Ann Hurd’s new show, Falling Water. The Syfy channel aired a preview episode last week , but the actual show airs on Oct. 13th. My recommendation is to skip it unless you like your scifi shows to be real low energy.

 I see that woman from The Strain (Coco) has found a better show, with a more consistent character, although she appears to have lost a lot of weight, though. Throughout the entire show she appears sickly and wasted which was very distracting because I kept wondering if her character,Tess, was a drug addict or dying from cancer, or gob only knows what. Tess is also convinced she has had a child, but there is no record of it.She is approached by a European scientist about some kind of dream research he’s engaged in, that will prove that all of humanity is mentally connected, somehow. He also tells her it’s a possibility she did have a child and doesn’t remember. Of all this shows mysteries, that was the most intriguing one.

Along with her, there’s a security expert named Gordon, and a cop named Taka, and they keep having weird visions. Gordon is on some kind of corruption trail at his firm, which I found thoroughly uninteresting, and Taka is on the trail of a dead woman who is not actually who she’s supposed to be, and a room full of dead bodies, which I found only slightly more interesting. All of this is interspersed with visions of his comatose mother. So lots of mysery, and dream sequences, but no real answers, which is just frustrating.

I get that the plot is supposed to be a slow burn mystery but dear gob! this was  boring. The music, acting and dialogue are so low key, that it nearly put me right to sleep.  I kept waiting for the action to pick up, for someone to show an exciting facial expression, for the music to add some percussion, anything. Later in the episode, some guy  blew the back of his brains out, and Taka escaped a small, but pointless, explosion, but this was still not enough to make me intrigued about the plot. 

Unless you have real stamina for getting to the truth of things, you’d best skip this. I expected more from Hurd than this sleepy time  special.



13 thoughts on “Season Premieres

  1. Love your states of the Fall TV onions lol.

    I caught a few minutes of “Pitch” while I was waiting for “How to Get Away With Murder”. The trailer didn’t grab me (I tend not to like sports-related shows even with a female lead) and I had no intentions of watching it.

    Since it was on TV, I gave it a chance, 15 minutes, because I’m all for WOCs headlining their own show and I want to support them. I know the twist at the end because I’ve been reading about “Pitch” EVERYWHERE, trying to motivate myself to watch it.

    The ratings were lukewarm. With “Notorious”, which was a bonafide flop, “Pitch” is the only show to premiere under 2,00 on network TV this Fall season. I’m gonna keep an eye on it and see if it has chances of being renewed and see if I give it a try…

    My new shows this season are “This Is Us” which was the highest rated premiere I believe and “The Good Place”. “This Is Us” has Emmy Winner (I’m always going to introduce him like that now lol), Sterling K Brown (Gordon Walker) in the role of a successful Black man married to *gasp*, a Black wife with *gasp*, 2 successful, smart and funny Black daughters… and the OG Green Arrow the always likable Justin Hartley.

    “The Good Place” has Kristen Bell, Ted Danson (major side eye), but 3 POCs in roles I’m enjoying so far. A Black man who’s an academic, an Asian man and a half Indian woman in a role usually reserved to the pretty blonde White chick.

    They’re my very “Jane the Virgin” cute, sunny, upbeat and inoffensive kind of shows. Right up my alley.

    A show that SHOCKED me because I was boycotting it just like I paid “Rush Hour” dust was “Lethal Weapon”, I was NOT going to watch it for all the money in the world. Well, I will hold this L because it was on while I was waiting for “Empire”… and I totally enjoyed it! It had Clayne Crawford from that masterpiece of a show “Rectify” (my goodness, why is this season the last), Damon Wayans who made me flashback to good moments in my teenage and early 20s years the second I heard his voice (I never watched his recent work on “My Wife and Kids” because Tisha Campbell’s not my cup of tea) and Keisha Sharp, the girlfriend who’s basically me, without the mean streak (I’m an angel…no really… lmao) in “Girlfriends”. She and Wayans formed yet another well-adjusted, successful married Black couple with lovely children, something that’s so rare in this TV landscape. I had to sit my butt down and give it a chance, and to my surprise, I quite enjoyed it! 😀

    Other than that, I LOVED the premiere of “How to Get Away With murder”, the “Empire” was entertaining and “Queen Sugar” is only getting better. Patiently waiting for the CW for the new seasons of “SPN”, “Flash”, “Jane the Virgin”, and “IZombie”. I’m giving “Supergirl” another chance but if Superman is as badly shaven as he looked on the posters, I might have to let that silly show go lmao! A little apprehensive about my country soap “Nashville”, I hope Connie Britton will be on the full season when she’s done negotiating with the new network because I’m not happy with the measly 10 episodes she agreed to thus far.

    Sheesh, I need to blog about this on my own blog. The length of my comments is getting out of control lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Okay, that’s it! Where is your blog? You have a lot to say, and lots of shows to support. Also it’s a good idea because we watch different shows, but watch them for the same things. Out of all the shows you listed I don’t really watch any of those and it would be good to have perspective of other shows with major PoC characters on them. Some of them I never even knew had PoC in them.

      Im trying to avoid Lethal Weapon because I don’t Stan hard for the movies and 80s action movies make me uncomfortable. I don’t now why, but I’m not comfortable watching it even though I really like Wayans and enjoyed My Wife and Kids.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Of all the Lethal Weapon films, I’m most partial to #2. But I’m not a huge fan of eighties action movies, for some reason. I loved eighties horror movies but I avoided a lot of the action films.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I grew up watching trash like Red Sonja and Commando (again, TRASH), but I love those terrible 80s action movies. Just Google the 1985 film Thou Shalt Not Kill… Except, or the 1980 movie Alligator. For those of us living in the south, Jaws was nothing, but the movie Alligator was truly terrifying. Bad 80s action flicks hold a special place in my heart.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Omg! I remember Alligator. That’s one of my moms faves! I saw Red Sonja and want my ninety minutes back. I watched Commando with my mom a thousand years ago, so I don’t remember that one too much.

        I did watch All of Schwarzeneggers movies though. I loved Predator. A lot of the action movies I watched had some monsters or scifi in them, though.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yeah, growing up there was a canal in my backyard that alligators would crawl out of to bask in the sun, so that movie terrified me. I thought a gator was going to burst through our bathtub, so my Mom would have to sit in the bathroom with me while I bathed. My sister and I argue about which Predator is the best all the time. She insists Predator 2. I told her she only feels that way because “Mister from The Color Purple’s in it!” 😂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. LOL! Where is my blog, indeed lol.

        It was supposed to be an SPN blog and I’m going through this weird writer block because I guess after writing my thesis, I’m a bit Supernaturalled out and saving my strength for the new season. Those Winchester Brothers Reports are wearing me out but I found a way to make then shorter this season by refining the formula = removing the recap altogether lol.

        I also think it’s because my SPN articles are so massive, in depth and gif packed but I can try to do light comments of my new shows. I’m thinking about it… Great idea 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

Comments are closed.