Lkeke’s Fall Lineup (TV)

Television

I will review the first episode of season three of The Strain this weekend. Hopefully it won’t turn into a hate-review and this season will be better put together than last season. There’s still going to be plenty of snarking on it though. I have never in my life hate-watched a show, but I really believed in the show, because its such a great idea and  the books were pretty good, and I kept hoping the show would get better.

It didn’t.

Last season had some truly awful plot points, characters, and whole episodes. I always go into these endeavors with a sense of optimism, though. I’ll try to do the same for this show as I do for all the other shows.

I will be reviewing as many of the new pilots as I can, and based on my reactions to those, I will add or subtract them to the list of weekly reviews, but my time is limited. I may not review one of your favorites. There are some shows that I’m definitely waiting to review, on a regular basis as soon as they return, like Into the Badlands (TBD/2017), and Shadowhunters, which looks silly and fun,  and The Magicians. I don’t think these will be released until next year. In the meantime, here is the list of shows I will definitely give weekly reviews for.

American Horror Story(9/14) – I have no idea what this season is about. Nobody does. The creators are keeping it a secret which is very frustrating to a lot of people who are used to knowing the entire plots of movies before they’re even released. I don’t mind the surprise, though. I do know that whatever the creators give us will be batshit crazy, so I’m expectant.

Luke Cage (9/30) – I’m so looking forward to this. it looks like its going to be fun. I will be watching for how the characters are treated, especially, the WoC, as Marvel doesn’t have the best track record when it comes to such things.I wonder if Iron Fist will get a mention, and if we’ll get to hear Luke’s catchphrase from the comic books.

Supernatural (10/13) – The show that never ends will be in its twelfth season.  Like I told you guys, I’m gonna be here to the end of the line.  I always go into every  new season with a positive outlook, and I’ll decide how I feel about a season when its over. As usual, my reviews will first be posted on https://samanddeanbrothersinarms.wordpress.com/      and then reblogged here.

The Walking Dead (10/23) – I’ve mostly avoided talking about this show all Summer. I feel really good about this season despite the presence of Negan and the absence of his victim, which I know is really gonna hurt, no matter who it is. I refuse to speculate as to who it will be.

I may or may not review From Dusk Til Dawn (9/6) and Aftermath (9/27) on the Syfy channel. Also coming up is the second season of Ash vs. The Evil Dead (10/2), which I may not review because I didn’t like how the one black woman in the entire show got treated in the narrative. I’m still pissed off about the writers fridging her  (in the   most horrible manner they could think of), just to provide some minor manpain for Ash.

There’s some intriguing new shows coming to the Syfy network , that I have no idea what to think about them, like Falling Water (10/13), and Channel Zero (9/27), which looks pretty scary and weird. I’ll review the pilots if I remember to program them into the DVR.

I still have not watched The Get Down on Netflix, and had no plans to watch Mr. Robot or Gomorrah.

 The pilots I’ll be reviewing are:

Atlanta (9/6) – this looks like a lot of fun. It has an all Black cast, and I’m casting around for a new comedy that’s as good as Black-ish and Brooklyn 99, and I like Donald Glover.

 

Pitch (/22) – I don’t normally watch anything that’s sports related outside of The Olympics. I definitely do not watch anything involving Baseball, but this looks so good, I’m getting kinda excited for it. I may never watch beyond the pilot but I hope it does well. Its about the first female pitcher in major league baseball, and she’s a black woman, so I hope the writers get the subjects of racism, misogyny, and feminism right.

 

 

Versailles (10/1) – I love historical shows about 17th and 18th century France. (Mostly because I love the clothes.) I’m going to check it out because its different from anything else I’m watching and will tide me over til Vikings (TBD/2017) is back on. I always have to watch at least one or two shows that totally don’t fit the aesthetic of anything else I’m watching. I like a little variety, sometimes.

 

 

Still Star Crossed (TBD/2017) – This is another historically themed show based on Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, and starring a large Black cast. It looks gorgeous, and I can’t wait to see it.  I just came off  of Coriolanus,  and Macbeth, on Amazon. I’m no expert, and generally not into romances, though. I don’t study the hell out of his plays, or recite them line by line, but I know enough to get by.

 

 

Aftermath (9/27) – SyFy needs to hype its new shows more. I barely paid attention to this one but from the trailer it looks interesting. I don’t know if I’m going to tune in on a week by week basis, because The Walking Dead is enough apocalyptic TV for anyone. But this looks like one of those End of the World Christian millenialist type deals and I’m not gonna get all het up about this if I’m also watching the Exorcist.

 

 

Channel Zero (9/27) – There’s a horrible looking tooth-monster in the trailer. That’s all I got because Syfy is trying real hard to be mysterious about the creepy shows its going to be airing this Fall. I’m okay with that approach. It just means I’ll tune in to find out what the hell was going on in the trailer.

 

Midnight Texas (TBD/2017) – From the writer of True Blood (Charlaine Harris) and it may even star a few characters who made cameos on there. This is on NBC, which brought us Hannibal, but I’m not getting my hopes up ,that the show is going to be too wild. I think Hannibal was maybe a fluke or something.

Westworld (10/2) – I generally try to avoid HBO’s shows as they tend to rely a great deal on female violation to titillate male viewers. I’ve already read a bad review of the pilot for Westworld. On the other hand, I enjoyed Deadwood,  Carnivale, and Oz, and  I have memories of the original movie. I want to know how it stacks up.

 

Mascots (Netflix 10/13) – This is a comedy from the creator of Best in Show,  which is one of my favorite mockumentary films. Its about the world of sports team mascots. I expect it to be as lowkey hilarious as the movies Christopher Guest writes.

 

Falling Water (10/13) – I got nothing! Looks intriguing. I know nothing about it. I’m not especially impressed by the trailer and that doesn’t bode well.

 

 

Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency (10/22) – I remember reading this book in High School. The trailer looks suitably zany and Frodo is starring in it, and I like him, so I’m going to check it out and see what’s up. There’s also a BBC version of this series, which I have not seen but the trailer looks as zany as this one.

 

The Crown (Netflix/TBD) – Another historical series on Netflix. I’m not especially impressed with this but I may watch it.

 

The Exorcist (9/23) – There’s no way this is as good as the original movie but I have to watch it to find out if that’s true.

 

There’s a bunch of returning shows that I will probably watch but only give a barebones review for. I prefer to leave such reviews up to those who’ve been more devoted to those shows than I have been. Nevertheless I am giddy about a few of the returning shows, like:

Teen Wolf (Season 6 -11/16)

 

Brooklyn 99 (Season 4 – 9/20)

Agents of Shield (9/20) 

Okay, lets try this again. I haven’t been watching this show because I dislike Chloe Bennett. She’s just highly annoying to me, for some reason, although I like everybody else, with my fave being Melinda, naturally. This season is helped by having one of my all-time favorite characters joining the show Ghostrider. I read these comics as a teen, and even watched those shitty movies, starring a totally miscast Nicholas Cage, for the special effects.

 

Legends of Tomorrow (Season 2 – 10/13)

I kinda like this show. I cant stand to watch most of the other superhero shows on the Cw but I get through this one just fine. I’m not devoted, but I am intrigued, mostly by Firestorm, whose comic I used to read the hell out of.

 

From Dusk Til Dawn (Season 3)

I missed some parts of season tweo but i watched enough to know what’s going on and to look forward to season three. This show still looks great but some of the acting is a little cheesy, and the plot is all over the place, by the middle of the season. Nevertheless, where else am I going to see lots of bad-ass, Mexican vampires.

 

 

Yeah…NO!

I have no intention of looking at these shows although some of you guys might get a kick out of them.

Conviction starring Hayley Atwell –  She’s a great actress but she’s made  the horrible choice of picking a bland lawyer show to star in next and I don’t watch those.

Lethal Weapon – I refuse to relive mediocre eighties action movies, in the form of mediocre television shows.

Sleepy Hollow – C’mon! You know why!

The DC superhero shows on the CW, I don’t dislike these shows exactly, but I’m never gonna be a Supergirl fan, I don’t care who is on that show. Arrow simply wasn’t compelling enough for me and The Flash felt like it was aimed at kids, although I really like the characters.

I like the look of Gotham and I hope its improved since the second season, when I last watched it, but it wasn’t compelling enough for me, even with the addition of Jada Smith.The show looks gorgeous but its stil la show with cops in it and I’m avoiding those right now.

Lucifer has some interesting looking characters, but I’m waiting for an especially compelling trailer or something becasue so far its just not capturing me, even though it stars DB Woodside, on of my fave Black actors.

Training Day seems like a grittier version of Lethal Weapon. I’m not watching any cop shows, so this one is out.

Van Helsing – I watched the pilot. I was thoroughly unimpressed. No.

Wolf Creek – I’m not sure how I feel about this one yet. Its one of those serial killer movies, so maybe no.

 

Next up Movies and Books to look forward to.

4 thoughts on “Lkeke’s Fall Lineup (TV)

  1. OMG, I love your TV round ups!!!

    “I may or may not review From Dusk Til Dawn (9/6)”

    If you do, I’ll certainly love to read what you think about it because I was told as a Sam and Dean fan that I would love the show but the misogyny was so off the charts for me that I turned off the TV (ad by that I mean laptop) in the middle of the pilot, thoroughly disgusted and in need of a cracker and some ginger ale.

    “Still Star Crossed”

    Sigh. I tend to enjoy Shonda-related shows with a Black lead (I’m still suffering through Scandal for the love of Kerri and currently jonesing for a dose of Annalise Keating) and I live for a diverse cast but there’s something about the leading lady…

    I’m very much an emotional viewer and I usually don’t watch for stories as much as I do for characters, whom I tend to like based on their actors. Reason why I’m addicted to the CW Flash even though I never cared about the character before (Grant Gustin is adorbs, as the kids would say and he has crazy chemistry with his Iris, Candice Patton), or why I only paid attention to Superman when he was in Dean Cain’s skin, or why I’ll never quit Dean Winchester.

    It’s also why I tend to either drop shows within 5 minutes or stick with them till the end and then rewatch them a million times. I’ll wait for your reviews, hoping they can change my mind because I NEED to fall in love with a new show. I haven’t fallen in love with a new show since Flash, Jane the Virgin, iZombie and I need those butterflies in my stomach again lol.

    “Lucifer has some interesting looking characters, but I’m waiting for an especially compelling trailer or something becasue so far its just not capturing me”

    My beta reader (I’m a fan fiction writer at night) told me I would love the show as an SPN fan. I watched 5 minutes of it and I found I didn’t connect to the lead actor. I do love D.B. Woodside and I heard great things about the series. Maybe I should give it another try one…

    “Luke Cage”

    I use your posts to deprogram myself because I want to be part of the movement. I wrote him off after seeing him on Jessica Jones. I tend to scowl at the narrative he was a part of in the scene that I saw, but I was half-watching, half-chatting with my bestie and all I really saw was him blowing weirdo Jessica’s back out, and then working with her on a case before blowing her back out again. I was like, yeah no, I’m good. Thanks to you, I learned that there’s more to the character so I’m opening up my mind.

    “Legends of Tomorrow”

    Interesting that someone who doesn’t like Arrow and is so-so on The Flash enjoys this show. Most of their characters come from the two shows. Who am I kidding, I know it doesn’t mean a thing lol. I hear Barry comes from Arrow and I dislike Arrow and everybody in it except for Diggle and maybe the late Black Canary because Ruby 1.0.

    The reason I don’t watch Legends is because I got so turned off by its characters on The Flash. They sacrificed a good chuck season 1A of The Flash building Legends and by the time the characters moved on to their own platform I was SICK of them. Only one I miss is Snart, but he was on The Flash since season 1, and one of the best characters of the show but since he became ‘good’, I guess he no longer had any purpose as ‘Captain Cold, Barry’s Nemesis”.

    I hear the Hawk people are dead. Good. I’m still mad Flash wasted so many episodes on these dreadfully cast characters, Interestingly, I didn’t like Hawkman in Smallville either. Yes I said I quit after season 7 but I started watching again after a hiatus spent mourning my 3 favorite L2s: Lionel Luthor, Lex Luthor and Lana Laing. Clark still annoys me but Tom’s thickness is keeping me interested lmao. I’m weak 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I watch for the feels, too, and I try to put effort into paying attention to the story. But like you, I sometimes just fall in love with a character based on how the actor is playing it. Imma stan for Sam all day, everyday.

      It could be because I never watched The Flash and didnt get used to seeing the characters. The only character I’ve liked on Flash is Cisco, but Imma watch it this season for Iris.

      I still don’t like the characters on Arrow, except for Diggle.

      FDTD had gotten better about some, but not all, of the misogyny. It still needs some work. I think that people like it for the brother dynamic, which is why I keep watching it. I love those two actors too.

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.