Humor on Tumblr

So, marginalized people can, and will,  laugh at just about anything, and its okay for you to laugh with our silliness, if you get why. It helps ease the tension and alleviate some of the angst. That’s our superpower though, laughing in Death’s face. When the end of the world rolls around, I expect that Black people will just go out laughing.

i-am-the-burglar patrik-star
thirstinism: “ asss-princess: “ marsblackmon101: “ best-seen-in-snow: “ thetattedstoner: “ lmao ” It’s even funnier when you know everyone surrounding them is secret service lol. ” Even the people taking pictures are secret service ” Even the babies...

thirstinism:

asss-princess:

marsblackmon101:

best-seen-in-snow:

thetattedstoner:

lmao

It’s even funnier when you know everyone surrounding them is secret service lol.

Even the people taking pictures are secret service

Even the babies are secret service

The chairs too

Source: rihannasbigtoenail

@

@

Haaaa!

@
@

This had me chuckling for the rest of the day. It’ll probably catch me up all week.

bigskydreaming bottomfinn

bitchcicle:

My favorite misconception about bisexuality is that bi people are half straight half gay as if I walk around in my straight form but then spot a fine honey and dive behind a bush shouting “I’M GOING GAY” and roll out on the other side with a flannel on and the entire discography of Ani Difranco in my back pocket

@
@

I remember doing this as a kid!

sleepynegress ilooovebutterflies
vivalakayvida: “ L-M-A-O ”

@
@

OMG! ROTFL!!!! Black Twitter is just gonna kill me one day! I expect a BLM note to be found at the scene of my heart attack!

odinsblog:

BREAKING: Police & media are trying to demonize the #BlackLivesMatter movement, Black Twitter deeply skeptical

Source: odinsblog

@
@

I got such a thrill out of watching this video:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/entry/transgender-collective-beyonce-lemonade_us_579101bbe4b0bdddc4d38721?section

@

This one just made me smile. Just about everything having to do with The Black Panther movie makes me smile.

Chadwick Boseman Explains Why the Black Panther Is Not the Magical Negro of the Marvel Cinematic Universe

the-jla-watchtower:

He’s a king so he doesn’t necessarily have to take feedback at all so that’s a good observation. What do you think prevents T’Challa from being a Magical Negro in Civil War? Part of the formula is there: he’s an otherworldly character who could be fixing these white folks’ problems [Boseman laughs].

Boseman: Well, he’s there for his own purpose. He’s not there… usually what happens is “well, he did this in this scene and now he’s doing [something else contradictory] and that doesn’t even fit the character.” That’s the Magical Negro thing. But, I think we were very cognizant about making a character that had his own through-line, his own intent and he wasn’t going to waver for anybody else’s story. Anytime that I felt like that was about to happen, I’d be like ‘nah, this is what he wants. You can do whatever you wanna do but this is what I feel like he needs to be doing.’ I feel like that’s the key. Sometimes… I won’t say more than that. I could go into the Magical Negro and talk about that forever but…. [laughs loudly]

I’m not gonna stop you!

Boseman: Nah, I think the main thing is just keeping it very clear that he has his own arc and his own things that he wants and desires. He only changes that when something strikes a chord at his core. It strikes a chord at what I think is his lineage and heritage and what he’s been taught, at what he’s been groomed to be. He can’t make that shift at the end of the movie unless he’s been groomed to make that shift already. And even though we don’t see that grooming, that’s actually the first glimpse into Wakanda before you see that tag at the very end.

Okay, I have a weird ask and you can turn it down if you want. I have two favorite lines of dialogue from the comics…

Boseman: Noooo, I’m not going to say them in the accent! [laughs loudly] I promised myself I wouldn’t do that.

I have a follow-up, then! Do you have a favorite moment from any of the material that you’ve read so far?

Boseman: Hmmm, wow. Let me think, because there’s a lot of different stuff. One of the moments was when he traps into his ancestral realm and all of the ancestors are standing around and they’re panthers…

So I have to stop you because one of the lines I was going to have you read was from that same exact scene. [turns laptop to show screen]

image
image

Boseman: I love that moment, mainly because before I’d even read that series—I’d read the Reginald Hudlin versions and the Kirby series…

Damn, you read the Kirby? I’m a lifelong Black Panther fan but that is some hard reading in 2016.

Boseman: Well, you have to read it, right? There was a book that had all of them collected. But that specific image of those panther ancestors came to me before ever seeing it. So, when I saw it in the book, I was like “Oh, wow.” I didn’t have the role yet but that image already manifested in my head.

@
@

Sometimes things is just tru fax:

odinsblog: “*bloop* ”

@
@

wolfpratt: “ imagine having masculinity so fragile, that you complain about other men playing a video game ” Course, give one of those Pokemon a gun, and watch those same man-babies racing to download their copy of Grand Theft Pokemon or whatever.

wolfpratt:

imagine having masculinity so fragile, that you complain about other men playing a video game

Course, give one of those Pokemon a gun, and watch those same man-babies racing to download their copy of Grand Theft Pokemon or whatever.

@
@

*And I am always available for Cookout humor:

Why Black People Care So Damn Much About Potato Salad, Explained

An Email To My Family About This Weekend’s Cookout

Why President Obama’s Final 4th of July White House BBQ Will Be The Blackest Thing That Ever Happened

@
@
There’s a huge amount of cartoons and gifsets of Hannibal in my dash. So many that I had to unfollow some people, but this one stayed.  That first one though, with that smile and the head tilt…priceless!!hannigram-hell: “ sekra: “ everyone else made these jokes so i did too ” I actually kinda want that dress. ”

hannigram-hell:

sekra:

everyone else made these jokes

so i did too

I actually kinda want that dress.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Woelf Dietrich

I tend to fantasize a lot. Sometimes I write about it.

Feminist Frequency

Conversations with pop culture

Mikki Kendall

Proud descendant of Hex Throwing Goons

We Minored in Film

Geeking Out Over Film & TV

The Nobe

The People-Watcher and Noticer of Things

Black and Bougie

musings of a colored chick with a thing for green juice and french vanilla

Colin Newton's Idols and Realities

Movies, metaphysics and more

Square Cop In A Round World

A former cop taking on tough subjects

The Blerdy Report

Black+Nerdy=Blerdy!!! Black Nerds Unite

Dave Chrisp Comedy

Same Shit, different Dave

The Peanut Gallery

or, a supposedly clever thing I really wish I'd thought of earlier

AfroSapiophile

Intelligent Black Thought.

Rowana Abbensetts

Writer + Editor + Advocate + Speaker

