General Tumblr Geekery

Not all of this is from Tumblr, but here’s a bunch of things that made me smile this week:

The Justice League trailer at least looks like it might be a fun movie. I like Wonder Woman and The Flash. I still hate Ben Affleck though, but at least he looks more relaxed or something in this trailer. Aquaman is all kinds of fecking awesome, naturally!

Im not going to see Wonder Woman, though. I’m going to start treating some of these superhero movies the same way I read the comic books…only in teams. I really only read about these individual characters when they were together. The Avengers, The Justice League, The Teen Titans, etc. I had no interest in the standalone books and rarely read them unless there was a special artist attached. I do really love the whole superheroes in history type deal and want to see more of that kind of thing ,but I ain’t watching a whole two hours of White women having fun and kicking ass. It will only make me furiously bitter that WoC are missing in action.

Again!

Preacher’s second season is going to start where I left off in the comic books, with Preacher and Tulip and Cassidy taking it on the road. I’m totally here for season two!

Plus there’s Tulip and Jesse kissing! Aaaahhhhhh!!!

And our first look at American Gods. Yep! It’s definitely a Bryan Fuller joint! It’s on Starz, there’s no ads in the middle, Bryan can get seriously freaky-deaky, cuz there’s no censors. I’m freaking out! I still haven’t recovered from the freakiness of Hannibal, and that was on network TV.

We’ll talk about these some more later.

 

 

 

 

*Whelp! I guess I will be watching Agents of Shield this Fall. I am a total Ghost Rider ho’! I read the books as a girl, watched both those hideous a$$ movies and this lil’ fella is Hella cute, to boot!

Awww, sh&t! 
superheroesincolor:

Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. adds Gabriel Luna as Ghost Rider

“Ghost Rider is coming to Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.!

The announcement was made at the close of the Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. panel Friday at Comic-Con, with the producers declining to divulge further details. But in a shared exclusive with Marvel.com, EW can reveal that Gabriel Luna has been tapped to play Ghost Rider in the series.

This version of the Spirit of Vengeance is Roberto “Robbie” Reyes, who in the comics drives a muscle car instead of a motorcycle. A high school student working at an auto body shop, Robbie is transformed into Ghost Rider after a street race gone wrong. (Nicolas Cage portrayed the first Ghost Rider, Johnny Blaze, in the titular movie and sequel.) “

Keep reading at ew

Get the All-New Ghost Rider comics here

@
@
*I love me some Bucky, but Sam Wilson kicking Bucky’s a$$, is totally my aesthetic.
samallcapswilson drwhothefuckyouthinkyoutalkinto

stonecoldfemme:

wilsonrogers:

that feel when 100% regular human being sam wilson kicks a helicopter in mid air andactually knocks it off course

I SCREAMED in the theater when this happened like stop sleeping on samuel thomas wilson and his training!!! yall remember when he kicked bucky from one side of the road to a whole new set of coordinates in tws? 😂

@
@
First black woman to write for Marvel. When I was a little girl I’d hoped it would be me, but life led me down another path. I’m still excited about this though. It’s about time.
reverseracism micdotcom

micdotcom:

Roxane Gay is writing Marvel’s new, women-centric ‘World of Wakanda’ series

The new story, which will serve as a companion to the Black Panther comic series written by Ta-Nehisi Coates, will focus on two female partners, Ayo and Aneka. The two formerly served on Black Panther’s female task force. And even more exciting, a release date has already been set!

Source: mic.com
@
@I just thought this was deeply funny.
bigskydreaming sunwukxng
2petty2function: “ elphabaforpresidentofgallifrey: “ THIS IS HOW YOU FUCKING ALLY! “White Nonsense Roundup (WNR) was created by white people, for white people, to address our inherently racist society. We believe it is our responsibility to call out...
2petty2function:

elphabaforpresidentofgallifrey:

THIS IS HOW YOU FUCKING ALLY!

“White Nonsense Roundup (WNR) was created by white people, for white people, to address our inherently racist society. We believe it is our responsibility to call out white friends, relatives, contacts, speakers, and authors who are contributing to structural racism and harming our friends of color. We are a resource for anti-racist images, links, videos, artwork, essays, and voices. These can be used by anyone for a DIY white nonsense roundup, or by the WNR team to support people of color upon their request.

If you are a Person of Color (POC), you have enough on your plate! It’s not your job to educate white people about privilege, racism, and what’s really going on in the world. If a white person is filling your social media with white nonsense – anything from overt racism to well-intentioned problematic statements – tag us and a white person will come roundup our own. We welcome your involvement, resource suggestions, and will take your feedback seriously. We are also happy to boost the signal of voices of color.”

“Tag us and a white person will come roundup our own.” LOL! Yes, I live!

O@
@
@
@
@
@
http://neguswhoread.com/email-family-weekends-cookout/
@
@
And then there’s the Baked Chicken Incident!I laughed so hard at this I’m still crying today! This is just so wrong, and sorry!
image
theblerdgurl
@
@
This just struck me funny.
themethodblue bloodylipscherrywine

goddessofidiocy:

tbh queer romance is held to a much higher standard than het romance like a man can cry over another man, be close to another man, protect another man repeatedly, give up everything for another man, and there will still be people saying that a romantic interpretation is “completely baseless” and “it’s great that platonic love can be so strong” and “don’t erase friendship, i’d do all that for my friends!”

but then a man and a woman share a pencil and suddenly romance is alive

@
@
bigskydreaming runicscribbles

runicscribbles:

bigskydreaming:

runicscribbles:

Pokemon Go wants me to go outside, but it’s so hoooooot. Aren’t there any Pokemon in my apartment?

It’s called Pokemon Go, Rune, not Pokemon Stay. Read the label, jeez.

When will they release Pokemon Sit Naked In My Apartment? That’s more my kind of game.

I feel like that’s probably not appropriate for certain target demographics of theirs, so I think you might be outta luck there.

 
6 thoughts on “General Tumblr Geekery

  1. I want to see Wonder Woman, but I don’t want to see the Justice League movies or Aquaman, or probably any other movies in the DC universe. I didn’t have any interest in Aquaman prior to this movie, and I still don’t now that Jason Momoa will be playing him on-screen. I hated Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice and Ben Affleck as Batman. I will not be spending any money to see anything else directed by Zack Snyder, or starring Ben Affleck as Batman. What a waste of my time and money that movie was.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I’ve never read a single Aquaman comic and didn’t care either. Like I said, I know about him and his tribulations from the Justice League comics. Nevertheless, I love Jason Momoa and have and will watch anything in which he stars. So I am there for Aquaman.

      As I said representation matters to me so I’m only spend my budgeted money on movies withPoC prominent in the cast. Not as sidekicks or just background color.

      Wonder Woman looks really really good, and Godot is really starting to grow on me. I initially didn’t like her much. I’m reluctant to see Wonder Woman because of Hollywood’s erasure of WoC, which is an important issue for me. I will watch Wonder Woman on cable, or get it from the library, and cheer her on then.

      I think I’m one of five people that actually likes Zack Snyder but that is only a matter of degree as compared to other directors. I’m perfectly willing to trash him when he fucks up.

      I still hate Ben Affleck, tho’!

      Liked by 2 people

      1. The representation of WoC is exactly why I didn’t bother seeing X-Men: Apocalypse in theaters, and that was a good decision because it turned out to be everything I expected it to be. I feel as if few people have noticed that Storm has just been basically window dressing in most of the X-Men films: X-Men, X-Men: Days of Future Past, and of course, X-Men: Apocalypse. She has a few good scenes in X-2: X-Men United and X-Men: The Last Stand, but for the most part her character has had very little dialogue in the film series. I’m waiting for Black Panther.

        When I heard Ben Affleck was writing and directing a new Batman film starring HIMSELF, I was shocked and disappointed. I thought he realized he couldn’t play superheroes when he starred in Daredevil, and then somehow he was cast as Batman. Now he’s comin’ back for round 3?! Needless to say, I won’t be seeing that either.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. X2 was pretty much where I sort of stopped paying attention to the X-Men, and The Last Stand was so awful I didn’t even notice Storm was in that one.

        I’m totally here for Black Panther. it stars four of my favorite people

        …And for the last time fandom, we dont need Steve, Tony, or Bucky to be in the Black panther movie. I’m okay with a small cameo, just so I know where they are, but its not their movie. They got their own franchises.

        (Yeah Warner ,that’s not directed at you. That’s just general ranting.)

        Liked by 2 people

  2. myfaketvboyfriend

    “Preacher’s second season is going to start where I left off in the comic books, with Preacher and Tulip and Cassidy taking it on the road. I’m totally here for season two!”
    YAY Cassidy is “alive”! They don’t make that obvious in that last episode at all.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. A Black woman writing a comic book series on the ladies of Wakanda? I’m here for it.

    Love the White Nonesense Roundup.

    lol @ Michelle’s “he better be, that’s where he said he was.”
    “We were making honey to put in our lemonade.”!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! FLOTUS is so Beehive! Love her. I was kinda turned off when the guy switched to a silly subject when Michelle was talking about education for girls. Blah. Always here for Missy. Love the U.N.I.T.Y. shout out to Latifah.
    The “Get Your Freak On” segment was da GOAT!

    What’s really good with this chicken o.O lmao!

    Love your roundups.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

TV and City

Television and New York

Kiai-Kick!

Martial Arts Film Reviews From A Brother Who Loves Kung-Fu!

Desert Portal Ranch

Where All We Raise Is Consciousness

handmadebykunbi.wordpress.com/

No limits. No boundaries. You are more than capable

noawarddotnet.wordpress.com/

social justice, media, fandom, drop bears

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Woelf Dietrich

I tend to fantasize a lot. Sometimes I write about it.

Feminist Frequency

Conversations with pop culture

Mikki Kendall

Proud descendant of Hex Throwing Goons

We Minored in Film

Geeking Out Over Film & TV

The Nobe

The People-Watcher and Noticer of Things

White Light, Black Filter

musings of a colored chick with a thing for green juice and french vanilla

Colin Newton's Idols and Realities

Movies, metaphysics and more

