File Under: Geek LinkSpam

Here is some of the more interesting news in geekery around the web:

 

 

The Sulu is canon gay announcement. I’m pretty sure this has been met with a backlash but I haven’t seen it. Still i will advise against reading the comments on any articels that mention this news.

http://www.slashfilm.com/sulu-is-gay/

 

I think  I mentioned this earlier this month, but I’m very excited about it so lets mention it again:

http://www.ign.com/articles/2016/06/30/stormwatchs-midnighter-and-apollo-return-for-dc-rebirth

 

I’ve seen these photos and although I wasn’t planning on seeing any more Spiderman movies, I can’t help but be a little bit more excited about this. No, hes not Miles Morales, but he at least lives in a world, and knows some PoC. Zendaya is in this movie and I’m a big fan of hers. I wonder if she’s playing Mary Jane. I’ve heard that she is playing a character named Michelle, but that could be a lie as well as a brand new character. We don’t know. At the same time Zendaya herself said she was playing Mary Jane. I’m going to hold off on getting too excited until I get some real confirmation of this.

http://www.denofgeek.com/uk/movies/spider-man-homecoming/39913/spider-man-homecoming-new-images-from-the-shoot

Also l

ots of photos and interviews for those of you who are just as excited as I am for the new Dark Tower movie coming soon.

http://www.justjared.com/tags/idris-elba/

http://www.ew.com/article/2016/07/14/dark-tower-idris-elba-stephen-king-gunslinger

http://www.denofgeek.com/uk/movies/spider-man-homecoming/39913/spider-man-homecoming-new-images-from-the-shoot

 

http://kotaku.com/pokemon-go-is-depressing-for-fans-with-physical-disabil-1783603654

 

http://kotaku.com/pokemon-go-could-be-a-death-sentence-for-a-black-man-1783388743

 

http://www.gamespot.com/articles/it-movies-new-pennywise-the-clown-looks-really-cre/1100-6441775/

 

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/the_flash/the-flash-first-official-images-of-keiynan-lonsdales-wally-west-suited-a143373

 

http://www.slashfilm.com/munich-and-the-dark-knight-actors-join-blade-runner-2/

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “File Under: Geek LinkSpam

  1. Thanks for keeping readers like me informed lol. I’m not a comic book fan and I only end up taking an interest in these franchises when they become mainstream and/or based on the charm on their leading man and how compelling I find his romances.

    A clear example for me is The Flash. I paid him NO mind when I was kid and the cartoon happened to be on TV and as a teen, I changed the channel so fast when the TV Flash was on in that silly blow up costume. Now, I’m obsessed with all things Flash thanks to Grant Gustin, his character’s sunny personality, neverending thirst for Iris in season 1 lol, his relationship with his loved ones (dude has like 3 daddies, a new brother who’s also his future brother in law (as a wincest shipper, I have no issue with this)), and a gang of awesome best friends), the best villains EVER (Wells!Reverse Flash in season 1 and my future husband Zoom in season 2) and last but not least, the fact that I find Grand totally adorable.

    When it comes to Superman, I found him incredibly handsome, I always found the costume cool, found the fact that he could fly REALLY mesmerizing and I loved his jet black hair with that S curl on his forehead. That’s it. Didn’t watch the movies or anything.

    I fell head over heels in love with him (actually that was Clark) when I laid eyes on Dean Cain (mamma mia) and became obsessed with that bomb chemistry he had with Terry Hatcher. Still, after the horror show that was ‘Superman Returns’ (what an awful movie, where did all the money go), I decided to pass on Men of Steel (that Sups is bulky like The Hulk and Cavill said something stupid about diversity). I don’t think I’ll watch Superman versus Batman for free. Reason 1: Affleck (no buneo). That should be enough but reason 2 is actually that I don’t like Batman.

    I just finished marathoning the first 7 seasons of Smallville. Gave into Tom Welling’s million dollar smile (Lord have mercy, that smile) and fell in love with Lana Laing, Lex Luthor and Lionel Lionel Luthor so I had to bounce when the three of them left at the end of season 7. A lot of Comic book purists hate Lana (she’s not THE ONE). For me, she was developed so well as a love interest that I no interest watching Clark fall in love with Lois (in seasons 8, 9 and 10) and thus betray the memory of the woman he should have really been with (in my mind) until the narrative pumped her full of kryptonite to keep her away from him. Also a non-comic book reason I love Superman, I find him SUPER relatable as a hero for some strange reason. He’s the Kryptonian, impossibly handsome and darn near perfect Prince Charming from all the princess fairy tales I grew up on. I’d buy his clone like a mail order boyfriend if they sold him in stores. Not sorry lol.

    As for Batman, they would literally have to have Jensen Ackles play him for me to care about the character. Never did like him and I think it’s because he’s a bit too rough around the edges and unglamorous for my princess side. All this darkness, grey, rained soaked city of Gotham, nightmare-inducing jokers, rat filled alleys and broodiness. Boy, bye. Oh well lmao. Hate Arrow too. He just has a bad attitude for no reason. Batman wannabee. Tuh.

    Back to The Flash, I’m really looking forward to see Wally as The Flash. Wally’s already been positioned as a speed junkie who loves The Flash as a hero. I really like the character (Keenan too) and I can’t wait to see him spread his wings. Run, Barry! Run, Wally! Yaaaassssss.

    Also, yes to Dark Towers. I’m always here for Idrissa! Yum yum.

    So happy for John Boyega. Have yet to see him in anything (I know, I’m one of those horrible people who’s never been into Star Wars) but if he’s ever struggling on the box office, I’ll buy a ticket to support the cause. :DDD

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww! I am a huge Batman fan, but then I’ve never been into princess fantasies that tightly. I got a little bit of it, otherwise I wouldn’t have been a Little Mermaid fan, but I was mostly a Tomboy, so the fairy tale stuff skipped me. I went straight from Sesame Street to Greek Mythology, which probably explains my love for both Batman. I kinda like all those grimdark, horror type heroes.

      Oddly enough, I never read any of the Batman or Superman comic books. I know them from the various team books, like The Justice League.

      I didn’t like the Dean Cain version of Superman but that was because I’d been spoiled by the Christopher Reeves version and believing no one could measure up to him. So far, only Tom Welling has managed to do so.

      I think I’ll watch The Flash this Fall. I want to see if its matured well. I still don’t like Arrow, the comic or the show. (I’m a Hawkeye fan.)

      I’m still giving Supergirl the side eye. I’ve never liked her and never read the books either. Its not that I’m not a DC comics fan, I just prefer Marvel.

      Idk. Some things I will only like in cinematic form, while ignoring the book form., like Wolverine. I don’t like the movies. They suck. But I love most of the comic books. Go figure!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. “Aww! I am a huge Batman fan, but then I’ve never been into princess fantasies that tightly. I got a little bit of it, otherwise I wouldn’t have been a Little Mermaid fan, but I was mostly a Tomboy, so the fairy tale stuff skipped me. I went straight from Sesame Street to Greek Mythology, which probably explains my love for both Batman. I kinda like all those grimdark, horror type heroes.”

        I’m a huge fan of Greek mythology too because my mom bought me this massive book with all the myths and legends and they’re all just timeless and amazing. Princess to the core, I was especially taken by the myth of Psyche and Eros. That was Disney right there lol.

        Any thoughts on Daredevil? I love the article that you linked about the treatment of women of colors. I didn’t get to witness too much of it because I stopped watching after the first episode with Rosario. While I like Daredevil as a hero, his backstory, and powers, and the actor, the Daredevil universe was a bit too raw for me. I can’t take a lot of violence on screen and the city was too realistic in its harshness and lack of polish (back to that glamor I hold so dear. The lavish sets are half the reason I’m still watching that train wreck Empire lmao).

        “Oddly enough, I never read any of the Batman or Superman comic books. I know them from the various team books, like The Justice League.”

        Ah yes, the superhero squads… I finally figured out why I can’t catch up with all the Avengers this and that. So many on them in one place. And then they start beefing with each other? Mm mmh.

        “I didn’t like the Dean Cain version of Superman but that was because I’d been spoiled by the Christopher Reeves version and believing no one could measure up to him. So far, only Tom Welling has managed to do so.”

        I liked Dean Cain’s Clark. His Superman was cheesy but I didn’t care because the show was actually more about Clark. Tom was actually never Superman until the last episode but I suppose you’re talking strictly about the powers. Then yes, I LOVED the way they were explored and I really love that the Fortress of Solitude played such a big role in the show.

        “I think I’ll watch The Flash this Fall. I want to see if its matured well.”

        Not sure what you mean by mature but the main complain many non comic book Flash fans have is that the atmosphere has changed a little bit, that it’s becoming dark and that Barry, who was an absolute ray of sunshine in season 1 is becoming kinda moody. I made this observation as well. I dislike Arrow for a reason and I don’t need Flash to turn into him with the bad attitude and petulant behavior. Sigh. I watched S1 for Barry but I definitely watched a lot of S2 for Zoom. I love a villain with swagger :D. I was rooting for him and he’s an absolute demon. Damn you, Teddy Sears… Tall men will be my undoing lol.

        “I still don’t like Arrow, the comic or the show. (I’m a Hawkeye fan.)”

        Only seen Hawkeye in The Winter Soldier, which I LOVED by the way! I didn’t care for Cap’s change in attitude. He also seemed to be suffering from what I called the Arrow syndrome of I was pleasant in my first incarnation but watch me grow up into this difficult man with mood swings, rah, rah. I liked Hawkeye a lot, personality and abilities in the movie. I’m not sure if the flying dude from LOT is the same character but no to the TV version.

        “I’m still giving Supergirl the side eye. I’ve never liked her and never read the books either. Its not that I’m not a DC comics fan, I just prefer Marvel.”

        Lol! I was side eyeing it in the beginning and side eyeing it as I watched the finale. It’s one of those shows I wanted to like because I usually love everything Krypton but Supergirl as a hero has yet to grow on me. Kara is only marginally more bearable. Only here for Calista and Martian Manhunter aka Hank Henshaw. Do you know if he was a MOC in the comics because he was a Black man in Smallville too. I’m always cheering for my people but I simply don’t believe James Olsen was cast properly. He’s more Superman than Jimmy imo. Too tall, too build, too suave, and his chemistry with Kara is not there for me. He has a little more spark with Lucy Lane but not much. Oh well. Get money, Mechad.

        “Idk. Some things I will only like in cinematic form, while ignoring the book form., like Wolverine. I don’t like the movies. They suck. But I love most of the comic books. Go figure!”

        Maybe Hugh’s not doing it for you? Honestly, the actor is everything when it comes to my appreciation of the character for me.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I liked Daredevil up to a point, and that article I linked explained why I hated Elektra so much. In the comic books, she’s greek or something and totally the bomb, but they really messed up the character on the show.

        I’ve read the Hawkeye books. Funnily enough, the movie version isn’t all that different from the comic version. There’s still this close relationship to Black Widow and that dry humor that Jeremy Renner brought to the role.

        For some reason, I like team-up books. I’ve read lots of Avengers books. I rarely read about individual heroes unless they are members of the X-men. For example, I love it when Spiderman teams up with different heroes, but I’m mostly indifferent to the individual Spiderman books (except for the Sinister Six arc.)

        Oh no! I love Hugh Jackman. He’s the reason I like any part of the movies. (The movies just stink tho’.) Its like he was born to play that character. I will watch stuff I wouldn’t ordinarily pay any attention to because Hugh is in it, like Australia, and Kate and Leopold (which I really enjoyed. If you haven’t seen that one,you’ll like it. Its totally princessy!)
        I’m all over the place as far as my likes and silikes thoug, which is why its so hard for my family to predict or know what I’ll enjoy. For example, I mostly dislike Game of thrones, but I’ve watched a lot of it, and was thrilled by osme it. I won’t read high fantasy but I’ll sometimes watch a movie about it. I like the show, Vikings, but won’t read books about them.
        Basically, my liking something, in one form, will never be an indication that I’ll like something similar, in a different media.

        Apparently, my role on this Earth is to confound people.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Oh now I’m embarrassed. I thought Hawkeye was played by Anthony Mackie (sp) in The Winter Soldier :(. I have no idea about Renner because I didn’t watch the squads movie…

        Spidey’s another one that I like strictly as a casual/actor fan. I loved Tobey and Kirsten’s version so much that I never had any desire to watch the other dude.

        I agree that Hugh was great as Wolverine. Also loved Famke, there’s just something about her… * hearteyes * So sad she won’t be appearing in How to Get Away with Murder anymore. She’s the most devoted partner Analise could have asked for but it didn’t work Analise (Viola) didn’t want a serious relationship with a woman. Also, Analise loves DRAMA!

        What don’t you like about GOT? I’m always curious. I personally don’t watch because I have low tolerance for violence and rape, especially when it’s filmed in a gruesome and realistic way. Xena spent her time killing and maiming but I never minded because it was filmed in a very clean and antiseptic way. I care less about realism and more about esthetics and escapism in my entertainment.

        I tried to watch Viking but things got real so.. I fled and watched an episode of Girlfriends as a palate cleanser lol! Joan Clayton to the rescue!

        I believe I’m super predictable in my likes. One of my best friend had a Korean drama phase and I always asked her if someone died at the end. Then she would sigh and pick a different drama lol. Not here for deathfic.

        I’ll watch Kate and Leo. Thanks for the reference.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yeah, I can’t explain my little girl-crush on Famke either! What’s up with that? I will watch anything with her, but I’m sad to hear she and Annalise won’t be together. I liked the idea of it and they looked good together.

        I dislike GOT for the same reasons you do, but for some reason I find it deeply compelling. I can’t seem to tear myself away and I’m not sure why. It has some deeply chilling and sad moments too, just like Vikings. Maybe its all the dirt and grit that I find appealing. Or maybe its just like with Horror movies. I’m appalled but can’t stop watching.

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Okay, let me fix this sentence because the way it’s written, it’s a slogan for internalized misogyny.

        “Supergirl as a hero has yet to grow on me.”

        I have no problem with the concept of a female as a superhero (or non supernaturally enhanced warrior, see Xena). I remember loving all the ladies from X Men the first edition, except the one played by Anna Paquin (it’s more Paquin than the character). Maybe it’s Melissa Benoist, I don’t know, because I’m not crazy about her Kara either but Supergirl as she appears today on CBS/CW is not working for me.

        Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.