Tumblr Calls Out Bigotry

*Tumblr seems made for calling out racism and bigotry of mainstream media and fandom. I really haven’t seen any other place as good for this outside the occasional progressive blog. These also seem to be the kinds of opinions that are only being explored and explained on Tumblr. 

From admonishing people to stop being shitty, to explaining how to stop being shitty, to points on how to know when someone is  being shitty, Tumblr calls it out, pulls no punches, and doesn’t have one fuck to give. 

reverseracism badbitchofcolor

The problem with most pro-life Americans: They will always come up with 1000x reasons why a 4 week old fetus has to live. And they will never, ever stop coming up with 1000x reasons why an unarmed black teen had to die at the hands of heavily armed cops.

@
@

mcufandomhatespeopleofcolor beastjstag

PSA: Stop using the culture, history, and suffering of Black folks to bring attention to issues in communities where you like to pretend Black folks don’t exist.

Source: eshusplayground reblogged beastjstag 26th May 2016 May 26th 2016from the q continuum
@
@
reverseracism micdotcom

reverseracism micdotcom
profeminist:

At the same time, you’ve got a legitimate right to be angry!  

image

READ: “Why I’m Absolutely an Angry Black Woman” by Dominique Matti 

“Because when I was five, my kindergarten classmate told me I couldn’t be the princess in the game we were playing because black girls couldn’t be princesses. Because I was in third grade the first time a teacher seemed shocked at how “well-spoken” I was. Because in fourth grade I was told my crush didn’t like black girls.

Because I am not seen as a woman. Because I am not allowed to be fragile. Because the nurse that checked me in at the hospital to deliver wouldn’t look my husband in the eye. Because the vast majority of people won’t look my husband in the eye. Because when the doctors put my son in my arms and I saw that he was as dark as his father, I knew life would be even harder for him.

Because I am trapped here. Because the playing field isn’t leveled. Because I love my skin. Because I love being a woman. Because not hating myself is considered radical. Because I’ve been called racist for defending myself. Because all the major protests are for cis black men. Because I’ve been told that talking about the women who’ve died is taking away from the real issue.

Because I get no break from fighting. Because everything is a struggle. Because my anger isn’t validated. Because they don’t care about my pain. Because they don’t believe in my pain. Because they forgive themselves without atoning. Because I’m not free. Because the awareness of it permeates everything. Because it’s not ending. Because they teach the children that it’s already ended. Because someone will assert their supremacy over me today. Because they’ll do it tomorrow.

Because I want more. Because I deserve better.”

Read the full piece here

@

@

wilsontoyourhouse stitchmediamix

In the instances when POC say shit like ‘Oh I can’t stand white folk’ or ‘Damn white people’, they aren’t saying ‘Oh I think they are inferior, I want to humiliate them, abuse them, enslave them and wipe out their people!’, they’re saying ‘Damn, after a couple hundred years of white people thinking I’m inferior, humiliating me, abusing me, enslaving me, and trying to wipe out my people, I don’t wanna deal with them.’ The context is completely different.

@
@
nerdsagainstfandomracism sharpestrose

sharpestrose:

I read one review of Cleverman that had a criticism that was like “why aren’t any of the guards conflicted about what they do? why don’t we meet any moderate regular citizens?” and I just felt like the writer hadn’t understood this show at all, because why the hell would it give white viewers an easy out like that, why would it give us a nice guard or a moderate citizen?

Why would it make it so comfortable and unchallenging? We’d all pat ourselves on the back, safe in the knowledge that we’d be the good one, not the mean one. Never the mean one.

Why would anybody expect something like that from a show that’s otherwise a relentless kick to the heart?

@

@

@
@

@
@

reverseracism ablackwomansurvivingrape

A white person I know and love once sent me a Bitmoji that said “Bye, Felicia,” and I stared at it for a minute, wondering what I had done wrong. The blonde cartoon posed with hands sassily on hips, the catchphrase spread playfully beneath. I felt my stomach freeze up. Slowly, it dawned on me that my friend thought she was just saying “goodbye.” I asked her about it. She had no idea at all where the phrase originated.

Not knowing where something comes from is not a crime. But before responding, I spent some time thinking about how moments like this come to be. A person who never saw Friday, whose relationship to black culture is tangential at best, uses an app that furnishes lots of cute sayings. Maybe she’s seen #byefelicia in a comment on Facebook or Instagram, typed by a black woman she knows from college under a particularly ridiculous Trump quote. It seems fun and harmless, so she starts using it herself and never thinks about it again. “Bye, Felicia” is no longer a pointed moment from a meditation on hood life. It is no longer from anywhere. By the time it reaches her, it’s just something from the internet.

This is what happens when bits of a culture are snatched up, repackaged, and separated from their context. It’s as though people are buying stolen goods from a reputable store. The initial crime of theft is scrubbed away, hidden behind whimsical fonts and bright colors. It is, in essence, the fencing of pilfered intellectual property. And it’s a key part of how our cultural order is maintained. If everyone in America started being really honest about how and where the language we use came from and how it got here, where would it end? What else would we have to admit was stolen?

This thought came back to me the other day when I heard Meghan Trainor’s megahit single “NO” in my car. It starts with a sung intro setting up the song’s narrative theme, namely that the dude fixing his face to holler at Trainor in the club is about to get all types of rejected. In fact, the scrub can’t even get a word out before she sings, “But let me stop you there.” Trainor delivers this line in a noticeably weird tone. She actively chooses to leave off the “t” sound in “but” and replaces the “th” in “there” with a “d,” making the line sound closer to bu lemme stop you dere. It sounds forced coming from her, as though she were practicing a language she just recently learned.

Source: ethiopienne

 

One thought on “Tumblr Calls Out Bigotry

Leave a Reply

TV and City

Television and New York

Kiai-Kick!

Martial Arts Film Reviews From A Brother Who Loves Kung-Fu!

Desert Portal Ranch

Where All We Raise Is Consciousness

handmadebykunbi.wordpress.com/

No limits. No boundaries. You are more than capable

noawarddotnet.wordpress.com/

social justice, media, fandom, drop bears

The Shameful Sheep

shit storms, shame, and stories that make you cringe

Woelf Dietrich

I tend to fantasize a lot. Sometimes I write about it.

Feminist Frequency

Conversations with pop culture

Mikki Kendall

Proud descendant of Hex Throwing Goons

We Minored in Film

Geeking Out Over Film & TV

The Nobe

The People-Watcher and Noticer of Things

White Light, Black Filter

musings of a colored chick with a thing for green juice and french vanilla

Colin Newton's Idols and Realities

Movies, metaphysics and more

