My Mom was a bit of a militant in her thinking. She was the one who introduced me to the words of Malcolm X, and Muhammed Ali, a man she greatly admired, and insisted on calling Cassius Clay. She told me about his stance against the draft and how he went to jail for his beliefs.

Some of the most eloquent things he said were about racism in America.

Because my Mama admired Ali, and I admired her, he has a special place in my heart, too.

He told the world he was The Greatest, and lived up to that saying.

The Greatest is dead.

Long live The Greatest.

Muhammad Ali (1942-2016)

My Mom was a bit of a militant in her thinking. She was the one who introduced me to the words of Malcolm X, and Muhammed Ali, a man she greatly admired, and insisted on calling Cassius Clay.

Leave a Reply

